Another New Project …..

I don’t need to start something new. I need to finish at least one of the 5 projects already on my needles. But see, this yarn is sitting here and it’s pretty and I want to knit with it. So I am. So there.

quince-and-co-lark-wool-yarn-canvas_0f32bc08-2529-4988-9a0e-9a81c555031d_1024x1024

This is Lark by Quince and Co. in Canvas. When I first saw this color, I knew it was mine. And now it is. I bought 9 skeins to begin with, thinking I would knit this

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
copyright Andrea Mowry

The only problem I saw with this ……. the V neck is both in front AND in back. Now I’m not 20 so the thought of wearing an open V neck in the back doesn’t appeal to me. I decided I could just knit the neckline in back straight so I wouldn’t have that V. Problem is, I’m not at all sure how to do that. And also, the sleeves are short. And I would have to wear a T-shirt under this …….. too much and also ………

Then I thought I would make Joji Locatelli’s Rhapsody in Cables

bric_002_medium2
copyright Joji Locatelli

I bought 4 more skeins of Canvas. They match, no problem there. Trouble is look at that sweater! I looked at my pattern and it is 15 pages I think. It is intense. I knit to relax, not scream. I don’t think I can muster the skills to do this. I’m not doing it – at least not yet.

So now I have a quandary. I have 13 skeins of yarn with no project in mind. I decided to make this

991_medium2
copyright Diane Soucy

You will notice this is a men’s sweater. Yep. Bought all that yarn for me and decided to make my son another sweater. He actually wears them. I don’t. I have worn my Old Town cardigan by Carol Sunday and I like it. I don’t wear Laurie, in fact I’ve never worn Laurie since I finished it. I have worn one I made from Malabrigo Mechita and one using The Plucky Knitter Crewbie and Lodge Fingering combined in stripes. Those are fine!

13129273_1713249595594706_1139883921_n_medium2

My Mechita sweater was made from the Dianne color way and it is so comfortable. I’m not sure why I don’t wear it more often. I’m going to remedy that.

img_0444_medium2

 

I have Penguono, Outline 1 and 2 and two pairs of socks on my needles. I could sit and knit all day if I could sit all day …….. but then I’m sewing too …. I think I need one of those time management programs. Sort of an internal clock telling me to stop one thing and go onto another – WAIT I have that!!!!!!!!

Knitters call these projects WIPs. For me, that stands for Work I’m Procrastinating on. Yep. That’s my WIP.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    It will be that!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. April Munday says:

    I’ve done cabling before and the straightforward stuff is easy enough. Some of those patterns look a bit more complicated, though. I like a challenge every now and again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennifer says:

    There are so many reasons NOT to do something!

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    I know! I might could do it if I could work on something else to relax. That puppy is amazing and considering I have never done a cabled anything before ……… hmm

    Liked by 1 person

  5. April Munday says:

    I love that cable jumper. I would happily sit and spend hours working out how the pattern works, but then I’d have to turn to my vanilla socks for a rest. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. suth2 says:

    Love the work you are procrastinating on. Sounds just like me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

