If Ever I Could Go ……..

strawberry

Years ago, at a library book sale, I found The Tassajara Bread Book for 50 cents. I have used no other book for baking bread since. I love my Tassajara Bread and am going to have to whip some up this week.

I set out to collect all the Tassajara recipe books I could find. My favorite is, wait for it, The Tassajara Recipe Book. I have found great soda biscuits, casseroles, fancy things to do in a crust and lovely and EDIBLE vegetarian recipes in this book. But, the one recipe in here that pays for the entire book? Lime Cream with Strawberries. THE END.

Seriously, once you eat this you will never want strawberries naked again. Nothing will match the taste and you will shrug off the extra work as a mere trifle.

What you need:

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 5 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 cup half and half (or cream)
  • peel of 1 small lime zested or finely minced
  • 1 pint strawberries
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • juice of 2 or 3 limes, depending on size
  • 1/2 cup whipping cream

Beat the egg yolks and the 5 T of sugar together until light and lemon-colored.

Heat the half and half with the lime peel. Gradually whisk the heated cream into the yolks to warm them. Return this custard to the fire and cook gently – all the while continuing to whisk – until it coats the back of a spoon. Do not boil. It will still be liquid, but thickened slightly. (If it goes too far and “scrambles” toss the mixture into a blender or food processor.)

Strain out the peel and chill.

Slice the strawberries and sprinkle them with the sugar and toss with the lime juice and refrigerate.

Before serving, whip the cream (I use 2 T extra sugar here) until soft peaks. Fold into the chilled custard.

Contemplate your good fortune to be enjoying berries and lime cream.

Let your compassion know no bounds. You are in heaven, you really are.

The first time I made this, I had my adorable son whimpering for more. He ate practically all of it and I had to threaten him to get my share. Now I know better. I just double the recipe!!!!!!! That’s a good rule of thumb around here no matter what!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I would try if I ever start feeling better having more time and energy!

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    It is ……. and I’m serving it over Dutch Babies one night for dinner ……..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That sounds delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

