Starting Early

Spring will come. I will no longer be cranky. I won’t be stuck in the house for days at a time. I will be able to go outside and work in my newly created container garden.

With that in mind and since I’ve had absolutely no luck getting any help with the work that needs doing in my yard, I decided to start early. I sent a long, explanatory email to a landscaping company here in Bangor who advertises to do it all, landscaping and maintenance. I want the maintenance part too.

My house sits on a strange lot. At some point the owners of the property behind me and to my left, facing the busy street, sold the owner of my home some land to build a garage on. What they didn’t do was sell the whole backyard.

I have no idea why I was so stupid when I bought this place. I think it was because it was the only house in our price range that wasn’t downright depressing, small, a tiny ranch or all three of those things. We were leaving behind 22 acres, an 8-acre trout pond with a fish dam and a 3200 square foot ranch that was 95 feet long and golly at least 45 feet wide. It was huge and it was lovely.

We spent money on that house, removing poorly laid ceramic tile and replacing it with hardwood in the kitchen, dining room, living room and family room. The family room had double french doors looking out onto the pond, which looked like a lake. We saw bald eagles fly from the evergreens in the forest part of our property each spring. We had Blue Herons all the time. Birds of prey are not my favorite, but prey was a way of life on PEI. We were prey so I know.

Imagine my surprise when our neighbor came over. I was thinking she was being nice and welcoming us to the neighborhood. Sort of. She wanted to let us know that what we thought was our backyard, was hers. Oh. Well talk about pissed!!!!! Anyway what could I do about it? Nothing. I’d signed the damn mortgage. We were stuck with a house that had no yard.

Now there are tenants again in that house. They have kids. I don’t like kids. I barely could stand mine until he grew up. I’m surprised he survived his toddler years,  let alone his teenage years. He wasn’t a wild kid, he was just stubborn. He annoyed the hell out of me.

So now I get to deal with a ten-year old girl and a smaller boy. They’ve already decided they can play on my driveway, swing and in my part of the yard. I disavowed them of this ability. Now I’m going to get serious about it. In the spring I’m either planting those evergreens that grow 5 feet a year or else I’m having a privacy fence put in. A fence would be best since I can get make sure they don’t climb over it whereas they might decide to plow through my trees. I’m thinking a double layer defense here, the fence AND the trees. I will keep them out.

I also have Japanese Barberry bushes in my front yard, if you can call it that – basically it’s a front hill. I need those trimmed or removed. I had asked two landscapers, one hoity-toity one and one grunge ball to give me an estimate. Neither of them bothered.

Today I sent that email. I’m not going to hold my breath. If they won’t do it, I’ll find another one and I’ll just keep looking until I find someone. These are the days I could kill my husband for dying on me. Seriously.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’d let you! This is one of those times I do not like being 65, in my 40s and even 50s I could kick butt!

    Like

  2. If you weren’t ‘so’ far north I’d come help you with the gardening part. 🙂 Here’s hoping you get an answer to that email.

    Like

Leave a Reply

