Sigh

If you were here, you’d move. As soon as possible. It isn’t snowing a lot – it’s snowing a HELL of a lot.

It’s hard to say how much snow there is on the ground right now. I’d say around 14″ but it’s all drifted from winds last night so it’s hard to say. There are 4′ drifts in my driveway, among other places.

The snowplows were out all night and they took every opportunity to come by again just as I’d gotten back to sleep. They stopped a bit ago. I think the snow is even too much for them.

It was odd, but I heard traffic this morning. It must have been a flashback to a better time because there’s no way anyone’s going to be able to drive in this mess. I cannot see across the park.

img_0819

I can barely see the bench and the houses on French Street are no longer pretty colors. They’re just white.

My son won’t go walking today although he did laughingly ask me if I wanted a candy bar or something from the gas station. We figure if he leaves now, he may make it by 5 pm. That won’t matter because the storm is supposed to continue as a BLIZZARD until 5 am tomorrow morning.

Imagine me, a woman sitting here patting the state of Maine on the back for giving me another mild winter with little precipitation, looking out at this unholy mess this morning. I am way too old to get excited about snow. I see it for what it is, the Devil’s handwork, come to make our lives difficult.

I can’t wait until it warms up. Until then I have quilting, knitting and reading to do. And then, when it warms up, I can suck the snow melt out of my basement. Don’t let anyone tell you life in Maine ain’t grand.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Ha! Well today we’re going to get another foot. This is nuts. We’ve had hardly any snow all winter – the most I think was 3″ at a time and now we have 4 feet???? If this is global warming, I’ll eat my hat.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennifer says:

    There are perks to being retired! I’m so grateful I don’t have to get up at 5 am and get out the door!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennifer says:

    Hopefully! We’re getting another foot today????? Nuts after having no snow the whole winter! I’ve got to find someone to plow me out!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. suth2 says:

    I feel frozen just reading about it. I will stop complaining that the sun isn’t out here today. Not yet anyway.

    Like

  5. I always thought Main was beautiful. However, I have never been there in the Winter. So, it may not be a fair analogy. Then, here in Ohio, oddly, we barely have winter. I wish I could snowed in an quilt instead of go to work.

    Like

  6. Hell isn’t fire, it’s ice and snow. The snow might be winding down here. This last batch fell during warm temperatures so it’s like shoveling cement. We still have power and that is the most important thing.
    Stay safe:) It will be spring eventually.

    Like

Leave a Reply

