Fresh Apple Cake – Walter Heacock

  • 5 small apples, cut in cubes
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup butter, melted, or 1 cup liquid shortening
  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 tablespoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon allspice
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup chopped nuts
  • Directions

    Mix apple cubes with sugar and set aside for 10 minutes. Melt butter. Sift together flour baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. Mix the shortening with 2 eggs; add apple and sugar mixture. Add dry ing ingredients just to mix. Add raisins and nuts. Bake in greased 13×9-inch pan at 350 degrees for about 50 to 60 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes. Serve plain or with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

    Serves 8 to 12

    This comes from a lucky book sale purchase, The Mount Vernon Cookbook, being recipes collected from George Washington’s home state. I absolutely love the Washington’s Favorite Poundcake too. It is fantastic.

    When this is done, I may get a picture. It’s in the oven now, smelling the house up just fine. It’s snowing, but not the BIG snow – that won’t come until tomorrow afternoon. Still, I feel there is nothing better to do than bake while it’s snowing. I’ve finished my quilt top and it’s in the sewing studio maturing. Read that for sitting there until I feel like quilting it.

    My late husband was Latvian and I was always on the search for recipes that reminded him of things he’d eaten as a child. This is one of those things. Because of the fresh apples and the spices, it reminded him of cakes he’d had and loved. I had to leave out the raisins and nuts for him – he mistakenly thought he hated nuts for years. When I made Nut Bread and he ate it ALL, he changed his mind. I thought that Nut Bread was mine.

    I do add more spice to this. I use a generous 1/2 tsp of ground cloves and the same of ginger. Also I add an extra tsp of cinnamon, for good measure. I find that this can be a dry mix so I add water if I need to. I use 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 corn oil. I hate using all my butter because I never know what I’ll need it for next!

    This will be a warming desert for us tonight. We ate polish sausage and sauerkraut last night – yes I know, I tried to be vegetarian again but meat kept getting in the way. Plus WINTER. I like winter foods. I’m thawing out a huge roasting chicken in the refrigerator now for dinner either tomorrow night or Monday. Tonight’s meal will be spaghetti (with my homemade sauce including sun-dried tomatoes, basil, oregano and fennel) with meatballs. Yum.

    The Penguono has been stripped of its feathers and is down to the back piece. Now I’ll see if I can knit this thing the right way up! Luckily I saved quite a bit of the yarn and only pitched those colors I didn’t like. I’m not sure why I put orange in it when the bulk of it is pink and blue? The orange was horrible so now it will be better!

    I just found out Hedgehog Fibres is going to have a shop update soon as well as club sign ups. Plus, there are 12 new colors hitting retail shops as I write this. I’m head over heels about Hedgehog Fibres yarn and I need to get some for Feather Weather (plus those huge needles) and also maybe some more for Scarfy Thing. Sigh. I lead a tough life, as I am about to tell you.

    My brand new Kindle Oasis arrived last night. Of course, the UPS man didn’t get here until 8 pm and we needed to charge my Oasis so today will be the first day I can use it. It’s much smaller than my Kindle from 2011. I can get used to it though! It’s beautiful and I’m super happy. I like the screen which is backlit so I don’t have to have a light shining on it. I have a case with a light on my old one and the light gets kind of iffy if I’m not careful!

    Now I’ll sit here and wait for the cake to come out ……… wonder if I’ll be able to wait until tonight? No.

     

    Leave a Reply

