Bombogenesis and Stupid Knitting

They have these big words. They just mean that we’re going to get what Islanders on PEI called “dirt.” It is dirt. It’s a damn shame that we have had little or no snow this winter, and now, all hell is going to break loose.

I’m going to have to go out and move my car back to the edge of the driveway so at some point I will be able to drive out. It doesn’t make sense to shovel a 53′ driveway just in order to leave the house. No. I will move it back to the mailbox and then DS will have only a couple of feet to shovel. Which if it actually is 24″, will be enough.

Sigh, bombogenesis is defined as “Explosive cyclogenesis (also referred to as a weather bomb, meteorological bomb, explosive development, or bombogenesis) refers in a strict sense to a rapidly deepening extratropical cyclonic low-pressure area.” Big flipping deal. It means 1) I will have another headache for a long time and 2) there will be so much snow I won’t have milk for a week. OK maybe not a week, but long enough. I will get DS out in his boots to walk to the gas station today for necessary items that we cannot live without, I’m not sure if milk is one of them. We’ll see.

I was knitting away last night on the strip I need to join the back and front pieces of Penguono when I accidentally looked at it to see where to join it. I found out that the back is upside down – or the two fronts are upside down, if you prefer it that way. Whatever. Either I rip out both fronts and do them again right side up or I trash the damn thing. Not sure yet what I’m going to do. I’m pretty miffed. I’m not at all sure what happened but probably instead of picking up stitches on the right side, I did it on the wrong side. Maybe. Anyway I flipped the damn thing. ARG. It was almost finished. Some unraveling will have to take place today and I will be back to the point where I may be able to save it. My name is Jennifer and I am a BAD knitter.

The heavens are even getting into the dirt act. We’re having a Snow Moon (no shit), a penumbral eclipse and there’s a comet flashing past the Earth – all today. All on one little day. Of course we get frigid cold here in the frozen North when there is a full moon. So how do we get so much snow when it’s so cold. Mother Nature has that all figured out. It’s going to warm up enough to snow. I wish Mother Nature was sitting at my table having coffee. I would introduce her to Mr. Snowbank she dumped in my yard only yesterday. I think if she had to walk in this crap, she’d give us a break.

Cranky is as cranky does, huh? I’m going to go off and see if there’s enough booze in the house to make it through until Tuesday. I have enough toilet paper – I hope.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    If you ever have any knitting questions I would love to help plus I know lots of knitters who’ve been there, done that!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jennifer says:

    No I’m in Bangor. I cannot imagine Caribou! I think it’s a lot colder there but closer to Canada! We haven’t had hardly any snow this year ……. and I was getting ready to celebrate. BOOM!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Jennifer says:

    It took me over a year to figure out how to fix mistakes. I finally just said heck with it because I was tired of starting over! So now I can fix most things. I still have trouble with lace patterns and YOS that need fixing! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’ve taught myself to knit thanks to YouTube. However, I’m not sure it is the hobby for me because I don’t know how to fix errors and errors annoy me. When I’m sewing, I have my trusty ripper. When I’m knitting I have holes. Hope the snow comes in on the low end. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Do you live in Caribou? My husband and I lived in Limestone (at the base) for 5 years. We loved it- except for the snow. When the snow banks were 6 feet high and the weather folk were talking about being down a hundred inches I’d cringe.
    Good luck. I hope it is a light fluffy snow:)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

