Too Busy

I wish this were the way it looks outside today. Unless you’re living under a cabbage, you know we’re having a snowstorm in the northeast. For some reason the weather people act like this is something that doesn’t happen in the winter. I refer you to this:

This is Maine and It’s Gonna Snow

Enjoy this even if you have to listen to a Downeast-type commercial – it’s pretty funny. Any way you look at it, this is Maine. Getting all excited because a storm is coming seems pointless!

I’ve been busy. Since bringing home my new sewing machine last Friday, I’ve been experiencing the joys of sewing with something that isn’t a piece of crap – a euphemism for a Singer. My Bernette knows how to sew, isn’t made of tacky little plastic pieces and is a joy. Now if only I wasn’t diamond piecing challenged, I would have the quilt top done by now. Seems I can’t get in my brain how many diamonds to sew together (it is embarrassing how many times I’ve counted the diamonds on the pattern graphic) and then I accidentally sewed the diamonds the wrong way. They would have looked like chevrons if I’d left them so I had to rip and resew.

Work on my Penguono is progressing. I’m almost finished with the body of this.

12952162575_5d144fc3c6_z

although mine is mostly pinks, turquoise and teal blues with some sari silk yarn thrown in for excitement. Sari silk yarn sounded like a good idea when I bought it but it has proven to be seriously hard on the hands. I use it sparingly. I also bought some yarn this week for my border. This is it!

26__58825-1411183494-1024-1024

It’s Drops Eskimo that I purchased from Nordic Mart and it’s out for delivery today! Fifteen luscious skeins of magenta wool should about do it.

I’ve also decided on my next project, which I figure will be finished sometime in late 2017. Not because I don’t like it, but because I fear it.

bric_002_medium2
Joji Locatelli

Called Rhapsody in Cables, this will be my first attempt at knitting a cabled sweater. I do believe I’m up for the challenge and since I love this yarn

quince-and-co-lark-wool-yarn-canvas_0f32bc08-2529-4988-9a0e-9a81c555031d_1024x1024

which is Canvas on Lark by Quince and Co., I’m using it. I fell in love with this color the minute I saw it. I also love the other new colors, Maple, Smoke and Root although Root, being a dark army green, may be hard for me to wear in big doses.

Outline 2 is also coming along. I’m loving the colors in this one. I can see knitting 5 or 6 of these. I may have to find a charity to knit them for because I doubt that I need more than two Outlines!

img_0810

You may or may not remember that I was going to get serious about Scarfy Thing by Beata Jezek too. I got stumped on the “join together while knitting” part of the instructions. I couldn’t figure it out for the life of me. So I quit. Then I’m looking at some other site for the directions and it finally dawns on me that I have been “joining” while knitting practically the whole time I’m knitting Penguono. Duh. It was just that Stephen West’s pattern laid out the stitches and didn’t call it something special. He just told you how to do it. So silly I get confused because I have to look at a video of someone doing a stitch ……….

Picture: Miki Barlok
Picture: Miki Barlok

Soon to be started Scarfy Thing! Now Beata has published a new pattern. Great. It’s not like I don’t have enough knitting to do. But there’s something in this pattern that just shreaks “Old Lady You Need This!” to me. Whatcha think?

Hedgehog Fibers
Picture: Miki Barlok

I could do either a multi-colored one or a solid color ……….

Hedgehog Fibers
Picture: Miki Barlok

I’m not sure yet which I’ll chose. I do love Electric though …………

 

Leave a Reply

