Baby Comes Home Today

Eek! I’m so excited. Today I get to bring home my new toy, the Bernette Chicago 7.

I had wanted the Chicago 5, primarily because I don’t do machine embroidery and the Chicago 7 does. Unfortunately I waited too long and the Chicago 5 is no longer available. Fortunately I waited until the Chicago 7 was marked down, I’m assuming for final clearance.

Either Bernina is going to quit selling the Bernette line of sewing machines, or else they’re going to introduce all new models. I don’t care which it is, as long as I get this machine in my studio.

Were I fabulously rich, I would have a Bernina 570QE with the lovely Bernina stitch regulator and all. But I am not fabulously rich. I am not rich at all. But I’m willing to sacrifice enough to get the Chicago 7.

I sew a lot of different things. Clothing, usually tops and a few pants, quilts,  patchwork quilt tops, art quilts. I sew every day primarily first thing in the morning. This is a shirt I made about 3 years ago. I love it. The pattern was easy to follow and the results wearable. I love the bronze lace over the base fabric.

boho
The completed blouse.

 

I recently finished a tee shirt and as soon as I remember to bring my camera downstairs I will post a picture of it. I’m now working on piecing strips of diamonds together for a quilt top out of the fabrics I dyed in January. I can’t wait to get it together.

I have a king size quilt top done – using my hand dyed splattered fabrics – and it is ready to iron and quilt. I hope I can do it on the Chicago 7 but machine quilting a king size quilt isn’t easy. It’s heavy and tends to want to bunch up. Special care must be taken. I think I can do it – I’ve machine quilted 5 large quilts before. I do want to get this one done because I need a change on my bed. The one I have now is 7 years old and ready for a rest.

Today at 10 am I’ll be learning my new machine. Then we’ll bring her home and set her up on my sewing table. And then the fun will begin!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Yay!! Good Luck! I hope you have many happy years sewing together:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

