Next Up – Spinning Wheel

In my quest to conquer every possible fiber-related hobby known to woman, the next purchase is a decent spinning wheel. I say decent, because I’ve already owned one that wasn’t. I didn’t like it. Not at all.

I’m trying to decide which one I want. There are many choices. Some of them, like the Majacraft Aura, are way out of my league, money-wise.

majacraft_aura_spinning_wheel_-_double_treadle_5

I would get it if I could. Anybody want to lend me $1500? No? Shoot.

I’ve recently become interested in a traditional Saxony type spinning wheel. I like to think of myself as traditional – if you can consider a psychic, fiber artist, vegetarian most of the time, conservative Republican ……. traditional. I like the looks of the Saxony wheel. And I like the Polonaise by Kromski.

The polonaise (/pɒləˈneɪz/, French: [pɔlɔnɛz]; Polish: polonez) is a dance of Polish origin, in 3. 4 time. Its name is French for “Polish.” The polonaise had a rhythm quite close to that of the Swedish semiquaver or sixteenth-note polska, and the two dances have a common origin.

I can see myself dancing away while I spin. I can see this beautiful wheel in my living room, being used a lot. No more will I stick my spinning wheel in an upstairs room, away from anything else. I have a sewing studio and in there I do enough without adding in spinning. So I will spin on my first floor, hopefully in my living room.

There is one made in America that I’ve looked at. But it has a plastic wheel and it doesn’t have the gorgeous wood turnings on the Polish one. I like the wood turnings. My Dad was a carpenter and he would have appreciated the work on this wheel. If he were alive today, he could make me one. Shame I forgot to get him to do that before he left …….. he could make anything.

schacht_ladybug_spinning_wheel_-_double_treadle_3

The sewing machine is in town. I received a call today and tomorrow I go pick it up. I get to spend 45 minutes with Bob, the technician, while he shows me how to use it. I didn’t have the heart to tell him I had a similar machine earlier ……. nor that I’ve been sewing for 54 years. I just said okay. There is an embroidery module that I probably need assistance with so I’m good. It’s just that I’m taking my son with me and I didn’t think he’d want to spend 45 minutes there while I get familiar with the machine. Luckily he assures me that it is fine. That’s good see, because he’s paying for it!!!!!!!! Now how cool is that? Happy Birthday Mom – my birthday occurred last month but hey, we never have any money right after Christmas so I was happy to wait!!!!!!! My head may explode with happiness tomorrow – which will be a change from foaming at the mouth while watching TV.

Spinners out there – what wheels do you like? If you had a choice now, what would you buy? Any thoughts? I need to get my research up to speed because there’s only going to be one spinning wheel. I think.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    That’s true!

    Like

  2. The look won’t help you spin nice and even yarn 😁

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    All the way down in Bath ME but I may have to do it. I’m leaning toward the Ladybug but I love the look of the Polonaise! I would prefer Majacraft Aura – ha! Only if I win the lotttery.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kromski wheels are quite nice. I owned a Minstrel and it was lovely. However there is a lot of benefit in getting the schacht wheel. From what I have seen on YouTube they run so very smooth and are very low maintenance. Is there somewhere you can try one maybe?

    Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    I always say I spin more straw into gold than Rapunzel has ever seen!

    Like

  6. Wow – I can’t wait to see what you do with it when you get one… Although, I immediately thought of Sleeping Beauty haha!

    Like

  7. Don’t forget to check the spinning forums on Ravelry. Also the tools forum. I’ve seem some nice gently used wheels offered for sale:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

