Dreaming of Spring

I’m on the lookout for containers. This is going to be the year I actually do what I have intended to do for the last 3 years. I’m going to have a garden, not just any garden, an artsy container garden. So now I need artsy containers.

I’m pretty sure I can find some containers at The Salvation Army. Any old pot will do as long as I can get holes in the bottom. I may have to buy some containers at my favorite gardening haunt. That’s ok. It’s in the budget.

My vision of a garden was dashed when we moved in and our lovely “side” neighbor explained to us that my backyard was her backyard. Not paying attention as usual when buying a house, we didn’t see the lines on the map and the words “property of ……” written in small print. So we don’t have a back yard. I have a driveway and 4 feet on the side and about 36″ behind my house. There is a bit more where my lilac is along with my propane tank. That’s it.

I have a back porch with quite a smallish deck – nothing you could sit out on. However I do have that driveway and on that driveway are two of these

 

flowers

These were such a stretch to buy for me when I got them in 2013. I had no money. I got them anyway. I need to garden.

I started gardening seriously in 1996 when I took the Master Gardener class through Michigan State University Co-operative Extension. I learned so much in that class and I didn’t wait to put it into practice.

I had a double lot, one of which was empty except for the garage in the front. It was huge and fenced in. I began to build a garden.

I found a fountain INSIDE a house on Lakeshore Drive in Grosse Pointe Shores and I bought it. We practically couldn’t get it in the Jeep because it was so heavy. We got it home and my husband hooked it up. Sigh. It was lovely.

I got on my hands and knees and laid bricks around the fountain. I dug up some ornamental grass that was huge not knowing that it would slice my arms to ribbon, and moved it to the garden. I bought thousands of dollars of plants. This was when I had money. I should never have let my husband retire. I loved his overtime.

I bought antique roses, a Japanese maple, an almond tree, climbing roses, purple lungwort, tulip bulbs, honeysuckle vines ……. every small plant you can imagine was in that garden. It was packed. I had a tumbling compost bin, a potato growing thing that looked like a trash can with holes. I had soaker hoses all over.

The veggie garden was just behind my house, off my back porch and deck. It was 25 feet x 8 feet and I grew my annual cutting garden as well as vegetables there.

Between my two apple trees at the back of my first lot, I put in a white shade garden. Sweet woodruff was the star.

Some 20 years later I am 20 years older and I have 3 feet behind my house, a driveway and a bunch of hostas I dislike. Hostas are boring.

I have to grow everything in containers. This is good because I can move them around to catch as much sun as possible during the day. Except for the Veg Trugs which weigh a ton.

I have a vision of brightly colored containers spilling out gorgeous plants everywhere. I ย never pull my car all the way up my driveway so I have lots of staging ground. ย I have acrylic paints in a multitude of colors and I can get more.

I know how to start seeds. I can do this without breaking a sweat. I can buy plants, maybe not as many as in 1996, but still I can buy plants.

I can find little goofy things to put in the garden. Cats and frogs and rabbits and trolls and flamingos – it will be so odd to see a flamingo in Maine. Thankfully he won’t be alive ………

flamingo-garden-ornaments-temerity-jones

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I have squirrels too! It may be a bad thing to spend tons of money on plants ……. will have to think this over! Everything costs the earth these days!

    Like

  2. Inese Poga Art plus Life says:

    Containers make a lot of sense, I agree. Not only can you move them, but also prevent good soil. I like that idea, but I probably won’t be planting anything because squirrels at this location destroy everything. It’s too much investment to create completely fenced in (also with lids and sides) containers, so I will have to give up on this idea because they destroyed everything from strawberries to tomatoes and cucumbers.

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    OMG. Already tired!๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

  4. First, I’d clear the entire place out so I could see exactly what I have to work with. Then I’d need a cup of coffee, some time, and a check of Pinterest for vertical gardening ideas. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have you considered wheels so you can easily move those pots around. I’d empty out the vegetable trug and put wheels on it. It would be a job but one that would only have to be done once. Harbor Freight in Portland usually has a good supply of cost effective wheels. You’ve got a challenge, but I’m betting you come up with something beautiful and livable. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

