If It Ain’t One Thing, It’s Another

Sitting inside yesterday, watching this apply itself to my windows and noticing how few cars were on Broadway, I had no idea what was to come.

img_0806

Seems it was not enough of a problem that we were stuck inside. No one was going to chance walking in this stuff to get mail or anything.

I’m casually watching Netflix last night and I noticed it was getting cold where I sit. Hmm. I thought, well the heat pump is defrosting, which is does ALL THE TIME when it is cold outside.

No, the heat pump was flashing, angry green and orange – I’m surprised it wasn’t wearing a pussy hat or a vagina costume. It looked deranged.

Doing what I do when faced with a non-functioning piece of electric equipment, I cursed my husband for dying on me. Then I went and got his son. The kid, although he didn’t want to, headed outside to see if he could knock ice off the outdoor compressor and thereby make the stupid thing work again.

He couldn’t get off the front porch which is a platform, a step and then another platform and three more steps. He kept sliding on the platform. So we determined we’d wait until today.

Out he went and there’s no ice on the damn thing today. In he comes and stupid unit is still flashing like Bill Clinton at an all girls school.

Making various pronouncements about what he thought about said heat pump, I told him I was going to call the company that installed it and see what I could do.

I will admit there is a lack of potable alcohol liquid to imbibe during these crisis. That will be remedied as soon as I can get out of this flipping house.

So I called. At first she was going to send a repair guy. No. They are $90 an hour. I just needed to know if there was anything I could do to fix the Bill Clinton flashes on the unit. She told me to shut down the circuit and leave it off for 15 minutes and it would reset.

That would work if the ignoramus who installed the circuit would have marked it. He could not be bothered. She said “Shut ’em all down. Won’t hurt anything.”

I got said son to help with that AGAIN. Various other comments were thrown around, including profanity about what he felt re: heat spreader (no idea why he calls it that).

Anyway, circuits off, waited 15 minutes, circuits back on. Guess what???????? It’s working! Love you Annette!!!!!!!!!! RH Foster is the BEST!!!!!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m totally ready to ignore that thing! I do set it on Low Noise but the constant defrosting in the winter drives me crazy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Restarting is a wonderful option. 🙂 We had a heat pump many years ago. I hated that thing, and when it died, we went back to a regular furnace and AC. None of them are perfect, but that heat pump gave us fits and made more noise than a passing jet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

