Cookie Time

It’s cookie time. I’m hungry. Whenever I’m hungry, it’s time for cookies. Sometimes I have really cool ingredients to put in them, sometimes I don’t. Tonight I don’t so it’s the Easiest Sugar Cookie recipe from the  Breakfast at Nine, Tea at Four cookbook (available on Amazon, naturally.)

This book came home to me way back in 1998 when I was briefly thinking we could do a B&B. No. Too much work, no money. I’m silly but I’m not stupid.

I do enjoy a lot of the recipes in this book though – like The Miner’s Lodge Breakfast with potatoes, eggs, bacon and cheese. I had to substitute veggie bacon for bacon in that one, but it was good. And then there’s the Sinful Brownies – this alone is worth buying the cookbook. Frosted delicacies of pure butter, cocoa and sugar. How can you miss?

And then there’s quiche and focaccia and scones and muffins galore. I do love muffins but they never last around here. When I bake the Easiest Sugar Cookies, I bake two batches. It’s the only way.

The ingredients are simple

  • 1 1/3 cup butter melted
  • 2 T milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 tsp flavoring – your choice – almond is good as is lemon and vanilla
  • 3 tsp baking powder – or 1 T since that’s what 3 tsp is!!!!!
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3 cups flour

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Mix all ingredients together until well blended. Put half of the dough on one cookie sheet and spread thin. Repeat with the other half on another cookie sheet. No need to grease the sheets, these babies have plenty of butter in them. Bake for 12 to 20 minutes until they’re the color you want them to be and they look and smell done. I say 12 to 20 because I tried 12 minutes just now and no way that was enough. I added another 8 minutes and they’re perfect.

As my favorite cook would say “Bon Appetit!”

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    You’re welcome! It is a good cookbook full of recipes from B&Bs all over the country. All worth trying too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those look really good! So does the cookbook. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

