Immersion

“Self-realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.”
― Paramahansa Yogananda

And you don’t have to struggle to get what you need either. And if you don’t get what you want? There is something else the Infinite Consciousness has in mind for you. Something you can’t yet see.

I’ve made art for many years. I think I started at around 3 with Play Doh. I then graduated to crayons as soon as my fingers could hold them and I could sit still long enough to color. I didn’t color outside the lines. I’ve always been orderly that way. I also didn’t make purple cows or green people. I knew my colors and I did what I saw.

I went on from coloring to drawing to batik to painting to dyeing cloth for my quilts to quilting the cloth to knitting and now embroidery and back to painting but this time, cloth.

I was successful with my quilts. I was interviewed by a friend once for his on-line site. He asked me if quilting was my primary focus for the last 20 years and when I said no, he asked if I thought I would have been “more successful” if it had been. Whoot. Excuse me while I slap him and explain that I was successful. I sold them all. Every last one of the 100+ pieces of work I created. I sold in galleries, on-line and through shows. I sold. That is success sir. What else is it if not selling? Besides of course just enjoying the journey, that too is success.

Through it all I followed my spiritual path, more so as I aged. I had to find the map. Once found, in Vashistha’s Yoga and in the Bhagavad Gita and the chanting of Krishna Das, it was a beautiful path to be on. I love it here. I am at home. I am not alone even when I am alone.

I no longer feel the soul-depleting emotions of guilt, depression or anxiety. I left those for the world-confusion to deal with – I feel only joy no matter my circumstances. If I have $25 to the end of the month, I enjoy that $25. If I have $2500, I enjoy that too. Being broke or flush with money is the same thing. Being poor in Spirit is worse than having no money. Being poor in Spirit means having no hope.

My work these days springs from my inner place, as it always has. I have visions I want to express and I express them. Sometimes I don’t get the full vision out of me, down into form, sometimes I do. Whatever the result, I love the journey, putting color to cloth, cutting it apart, reassembling it, painting it, rubbing it with oil pastels, glue and foil. I enjoy that journey.

I am self-realized. Finally there after a long journey ……… excuse me while I jump back on my Path and see what’s around the corner ……..

 

Leave a Reply

