I’m Getting a Headache

I’ve been working today in the studio, trying to recover a piece I somewhat finished and didn’t like. And I mean seriously, if you don’t like something, get rid of it, somehow, anyhow.

The fabrics were just too pink, purple, no relief added from blues or greens or yellows. I had stuck in beads, sari ribbons and they only made it worse. It looked like it had some sort of acne.

I cut the offending parts out late last night and today I sliced it up, turned it around, pieced it back together. Much better.

Then I started sewing strips together. That went well. And I decided to sew three large pieces of dyed fabric together. Why did I do that? No clue. I didn’t like it. Time for me to leave the room. I took a nap.

Today it was -1 as I trudged out once again to the grocery store. That’s it for me until the weather gets much warmer. Which is happening tomorrow. From 1 to 33, bet it’s going to snow. I can already feel my low pressure headache starting. It’s going to snow on Tuesday and rain on Wednesday. How does a place go from -25 wind chill to 44 degrees and rain in a week?????? Madness. I don’t mind the 40 degree temps – it will be nice for a change not to take a shower and have the water freeze on my skin before I can towel off – but I do mind the extreme cold, the difficult terrain half icy half snowy and all treacherous.

And then I think I’ll relax and look at my Instagram feed. Sigh. There’s a designer I love who has decided to become politically active. Because, she says, she wants all people honored, not just those in power. OMG. Who was in power for the last 8 years? Was she politically active then? No. She agreed with them. And I have a problem. I am a mean old bitch. No kidding. Meaner than shit. I talk a good talk about love they neighbor blah blah blah but when it comes right down to it – I get pissed off. And she pissed me off, which means she has one less customer. Such is life. She won’t even just give it a chance for a couple months, see what happens. Nope. Going to be indignant about everything the new administration does. I’m sure she thinks I’m deplorable, a white supremacist, a basement dweller. I don’t think she’s been out of the basement long ……….

While everyone else is out there bitching pissing and moaning and groaning, I’m going to get on with my life. Ignoring the world-confusion unless it’s stuck in my face. I can get her off my IG feed. I just did.

“You may control a mad elephant;
You may shut the mouth of the bear and the tiger;
Ride the lion and play with the cobra;
By alchemy you may learn your livelihood;
You may wander through the universe incognito;
Make vassals of the gods; be ever youthful;
You may walk in water and live in fire;
But control of the mind is better and more difficult.” 
― Paramahansa YoganandaAutobiography of a Yogi

I can control my mind. I don’t think she can.

Leave a Reply

