Pussy Hats

I kept seeing people in a certain nameless knitting group talking about knitting pussy hats. I had no idea what they were talking about. I searched on Ravelry for the pattern. Let me say I cannot promote this pattern. It’s ugly. If you want to see it, it is here. I won’t be making myself a pussy hat. I am not a pussy.

I had to Google what the demonstration the day after the inauguration was all about. I found this, in part.

The march emerged as a grassroots effort in the days after election, but after the Facebook event went viral, traditional political organizers and groups became involved. The four co-chairs are now Linda Sarsour (executive director of the Arab American Association of New York), Tamika D Mallory (political organizer and former executive director of the National Action Network), Carmen Perez (executive director of political action group The Gathering for Justice) and Bob Bland (a fashion designer who focuses on ethical manufacturing).

Planned Parenthood has just become an official partner of the march and will assist leaders in providing staff and large-scale event planning knowledge.

Well that sounds like a place I’d be dying to go. I’m sure there will be nasty comments here – I will remind you that my comments have to be monitored by me. So if you want to be vulgar, let fly. I won’t read them.

I’ve seen marches and demonstrations and rallies and riots galore in my time. I even marched in a couple during the Vietnam War. I was in college when the kids at Kent State were killed. I got out of school early because the administration of my school wanted to stop the demonstrations. I went home, to a larger university town with the same demonstrations. Frying pan to fire comes to mind …….

What I want to know is, will Hillary be marching too? I’d like to see her there, along with Huma and Jennifer Palmieri. That would be fun to watch. Somehow I think Hillary will be too busy figuring out how to run for Mayor of New York City to march for anything to do with woman’s rights.

I’m older than most of the women who will march in this instance. I remember when women were supposed to stay pregnant and barefoot in the kitchen. That made me burn my bra – and let me tell you that was a PROBLEM – I have always been well endowed.

I can remember when going back to school after you raised your kids to a certain age was considered a novelty. When being a working mother was frowned upon.  While applying for a job in Iowa, I was asked how my husband liked his job – WTF did that have to do with my qualifications?

I think the march is a good idea, particularly if they would just take off those stupid hats. Knit a normal hat so you don’t look so weird and if you must have a pussy hat, please call it a cat hat. We have enough derogatory comments without you all wearing a “Pussy” on your head.

