Circular Paths

It seems wherever I am, I’ve been there before. My life has been lived predominantly inside, although I appear to be an extrovert. I can be, I just don’t want to be. I like my inside where I commune with the Divine, hum along with the sounds of the Infinite Consciousness, ignoring the world-confusion.

The world is confused. And it is full of objects, desires, conflicting people, sorrows and joys ……. but it is seldom full of peace. It only by pulling within that peace can be experienced.

“The Buddha said that responding to hatred with hatred can only increase hatred a thousandfold,” writes Thich Nhat Hanh. 

Whatever you think, you attract toward you. It is the same as the principle of like attracts like in physics. Whatever is in your mind, which is where your realm of Infinite Consciousness lives, is what you get.

If you live as a combatant, always fighting slights, behavior you see as unjust, the Infinite Consciousness will give you more to fight. It is seen as your path, your dharma to fight. But if you live as a peaceful, mindful person always working for the Lord – whichever Lord you believe in, there is truly only one – then you gain mastery over your emotions which are seated in the root Chakra and your energies begin to rise through the Chakras until you are centered in the 1000 Petal Lotus Flower, or Crown Chakra. Just getting your energies to the heart Chakra is a blessed place to be, and the Third Eye even more so, but reaching the Crown, you will see your purpose laid out in front of you.

It has been said that we all have a special talent that no one else has and our task is to find that talent. This can be accomplished  through meditation, reading of holy works such as Vasishta’s Yoga or The Bhagavad Gita – I mention these because this is what I read although I do not limit myself to Hindu scripture but take in as much as I can, practicing Bhakti Yoga, the yoga of the Chant – all ways you can touch the Divine, find your Dharma, give the self the Self.

I am a damn good fighter. I have participated in many a legal battle and in fact worked for lawyers for a long time. I even wanted to be one, back in the day before I came to my senses.

I fought battles with my husband’s ex-wife over custody of their child, I fought the take-over of my mother-in-law by people of her nationality who thought she had no one and therefore there  would be riches to be gained. I fought doctors when my son and father were in hospital and their treatment was in question. I fought. All. The. Time. I wore my spirit down to nothing.

I won’t fight any longer. I see nothing in the world-confusion that’s worth fighting about. It is merely an illusion.

“This world-appearance is a confusion: even as the blueness of the sky is an optical illusion. I think it is better not to let the mind dwell on it, but to ignore it. (1.3.2)” 

Swami Venkatesananda, Vasistha’s Yoga

Wise words. Ignore it.

 

