Ho Ho Heave Ho

No, it won’t look like this. It will look quite different. But it will be better than this.

DSC_2673
Frightening

I had the brilliant idea day before yesterday that I should move my bedroom into the sewing room and my sewing room into the bedroom. My bedroom is somewhere around 17′ x 15′ or larger – haven’t measured it lately. I have a 7′ walk-in closet and windows that face the street which form a bay. It is huge. There was my king-size bed, my end table and lamp, a big pile of stuff that looks like laundry but it really stuff I didn’t throw out the last time I cleaned my closet. That’s it. That’s all that was in there.

As you can see from the shelving above, my sewing room was packed to the rafters. I have 3 of those tall shelving units and each one of them had bins on them with fabric and other cool things in them. Like beads and bead glue, antique button collections, thread, needles and whatever.

Last night I told my son we’d just leave it as it was. I didn’t even want to think about the mess. This morning, I changed my mind. We moved the rooms.

We did good for an hour and all the stuff was out of the sewing room, into the bedroom as much as we could fit in it and still get the bed out – the rest was in the hallway.

Then we tried moving the bed. Mattress, no problem. Box springs, no problem. Bed frame? Wouldn’t go out the door because it was too high. We couldn’t flip it over or fit it through either way – so the bed frame had to come apart. And it had screws put in with an allen wrench, a Robert’s head screwdriver, a Philips screwdriver …….. just on and on. It took 4 hours to get the bed apart and put back together. And then we made the bed.

My end table is next to my bed, the bed is made with my son crawling on it to get the sheets on the back side of it. There isn’t any room between the wall and the opposite side of the bed. I got one shade down and the other one kept falling. I have curtain rods to put up tomorrow along with curtains. Guess someone will be standing on the bed to do one of them.

The door to my old bedroom/new sewing room is shut. There’s still crap in the hallway but not so bad we can’t get into the bathroom. Tomorrow we begin arranging the sewing room. I hope my back feels better by then, because I decided to vacuum the downstairs this morning before we started on the move. I’m going to sit in my chair and knit and pray to God I don’t have to pee because I don’t want to walk upstairs again.

When I go to bed tonight, I hope Maggie can find me. She will be a bit confused but she did enjoy all the commotion today. She was right up there in the middle of it. She got told off a few times and spent about an hour locked up in my son’s room until she started meowing piteously. We let her out so she could get under our feet. So much better that way.

The next project is the downstairs art studio which will be used for dyeing fabric, design work, storing dyes and dye paste and thermofaxes and all sorts of lovely things. Maybe yarn if we don’t feel like carrying it somewhere else will live in there.

I’m tired. Going to watch Season 4 of Downton Abbey and relax. I don’t have a date for tonight. ROFL.

