Weather Forecast

141103-snow-maine-5a_36d2e93dfde2632abcbc62a7dba2298c

I’ve been checking out  the Weather Forecast Bangor, ME for a few days now. Ever since I learned that a storm would roll in this weekend.

One thing you have to do if you live in Maine is watch for snowstorms. Usually they aren’t just a few inches of snow. Most of the time they’re 20″ of snow.

Listen to this if you don’t believe me. This is Maine  by Troy Bennett is hilarious. I know there’s a commercial, but it’s short. And maybe you’ll get the one about the Toyota sale. It’s funny.

I decided today there was no way I’m walking into a grocery store with all the people in the Great Bangor area at the store. I was right. I ordered the groceries on-line and scheduled a pick-up for 1:00 pm. Well, we got them and just as we were heading back to the barn, it started snowing like crazy. The roads were snow-covered in minutes. I went down into 3rd gear because even with 4 wheel drive, when the roads are slick, that poor little Subaru slides.

We’re home now, both exhausted from the horror of putting away 10 bags of groceries that someone else picked out and rang up and put into the trunk of the car.  Don’t tell them, but I’d pay $20 to get my groceries this way. The parking lot at the store was full and people were pulling in and out in front of me. They have no idea how mean I am behind the wheel of a car. If I still had my Escape they wouldn’t dare.

We are armed with Diet Coke, Diet Coke Lime, pecan pie is heating up in the oven (my choice for my birthday treat which isn’t until next week but I’m not waiting until then) and tonight I’m not cooking. We’ll eat whatever we can pick up. I got DS some seafood salad and I was not sorry to see him take it upstairs. That stuff smells like a fish cannery. Disgusting. I’d eat that right after I stick pork and beans in my mouth. Like never.

Oh and the forecast? How’s this for a reason to stay home?

ACCUMULATIONS...SNOW ACCUMULATION OF 3 TO 7 INCHES...WITH THE
  HIGHEST AMOUNTS TO THE NORTH AND WEST OF BANGOR. BRIEF SNOW
  RATES OF 1 TO 2 INCHES PER HOUR ARE POSSIBLE DURING THE MID TO
  LATE EVENING BEFORE MIXING WITH AND CHANGING TO RAIN OVERNIGHT.

* TIMING...THIS AFTERNOON AND NIGHT.

* IMPACTS...SNOW WILL RESULT IN DIFFICULT  DRIVING CONDITIONS.
  HEAVY WET SNOW COMBINED WITH STRONG GUSTY WINDS MAY CAUSE 
DOWNED TREES AND BRANCHES DUE TO SNOW LOADING TO SNAP WITH 
NuMEROUS POWER OUTAGES POSSIBLE.

* WINDS...SOUTHEAST 20 TO 30 MPH WITH GUSTS UP TO 45 MPH.

No mention of the rain and snow we’re supposed to get tomorrow. I hope it’s all snow because rain FREEZES and turns into ice. I have 25 lb of salt now so that should do us for a bit. Until the next storm. Which we know is going to come, like it or not. After all, this is Maine.

