Cooking

Christmas Eve dinner at our home is in progress. For some reason things are getting done faster than I’d anticipated.

We’re indulging in our favorites, Mom’s Sage Dressing, Mashed Potatoes with Garlic and Jarlsberg, Roasted Young Turkey Breast, Gravy and Saucy Cranberry Desert.

Although we usually eat a vegetarian diet, today we added roasted turkey breast as a treat. I feel mean. I will get over it.

Our meal today means that I will not have to cook tomorrow. Tomorrow I will dye fabric or sit and knit – better be dyeing some fabric before I sit and knit or it will never get done. The knitting can happen in the evening, when I’m relaxing with a binge watch of Downton Abbey. I’ve watched that series at least 6 times. This is the 7th. When I finish that, I will binge watch Pride and Prejudice with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle.  I may even watch Death Comes to Pemberly although the actors in that are different and I like the old characters better. I particularly love Lizzy’s mother and Lady Catherine de Bourgh, not to mention David Bamber as Mr. Collins. He made my skin crawl and I think that’s what he’s supposed to do.

Have any New Year’s Resolutions yet? I have a few, none of which I’m going to write down because I will keep just exactly that many. I do have plans, as I wrote in my previous post, but that’s going to be slow and take time. My time, my time I don’t have enough of already! Plus I’m going to start spinning my own yarn, something I tried to do in 2012 but on a nasty bad spinning wheel. This time I’m going to have a better one. The one I desire the most is way out of my reach, so I’m going with one half the cost and made in America. I like the made in America part a lot.

We have presents to give and the most exciting ones are new toys for Maggie. Maggie Boops, as I call her, deserves many toys this Christmas!

IMG_0177

