At it Again

 

img_0668

This morning I decided to bake my King Arthur Flour Vanilla Bean Cheesecake Bars. I have a bone to pick with these – I bought the mix a couple of weeks ago and it was not cheap. When I got it home (ordering groceries for pick up has disadvantages too but not as much as actually going to the store and picking them out) that I needed 2 packages of cream cheese. Hey, I could make these with cream cheese, cracker crumbs and eggs and sugar! Why the heck am I buying a $4 mix?

Well anyway I did the cookies only I put them in a pie plate and called it a cheesecake. It’s chilling in the fridge for desert tonight.

While I was making a mess anyway, I decided to try a Carrot Ginger Breakfast Cookie recipe from an old cookbook by Kristina Turner, The Self-Healing Cookbook. This was one of my only references when I switched everyone to macrobiotic eating back in the 90s. I wasn’t thanked for it, believe me. Besides the fact that many years ago hardly anyone was vegetarian, finding decent substitutes for what my family considered “normal” (read that as beef, including hamburger and hotdogs and spaghetti and macaroni and cheese) food was horrible. I made kasha stuffed cabbage leaves, walnut balls in béchamel sauce, just a range of horrid things. I did find a burger replacement by Archer Daniels Midland but I can’t find them any longer. It was in a foil package and you mixed it with water and waited for it to thicken and then cooked it in a skillet. They weren’t super popular either.

I’ve never had all the ingredients for the carrot cookies so I hadn’t tried them until today. I got creative with the recipe. My attitude is it’s just a suggestion – I can improve on it.

Here’s my idea of Carrot Ginger Breakfast Cookies

2.5 cups flour – all-purpose or whole wheat

2 cups cooked oatmeal

1 1/3 cup sugar

5 carrots cooked and mashed

2 large ripe bananas

2 eggs

1/3 cup corn oil

1 tsp salt

2 tsp vanilla

2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp cardamom

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/2 walnuts if desired

Preheat the oven to 350. Place the carrots in a stand mixer and mash them. Add the ripe bananas to the carrots and mash them together until well combined. Add the eggs, corn oil, salt, vanilla, ground ginger, cinnamon, cardamom and nutmeg to the mixture. Beat until combined.

Stir in the flour and oatmeal and mix until just well combined. Add the walnuts if using.

Spread the mixture onto a 15 x 1 x 10 inch pan. Bake for 30 minutes or until done. These won’t be super brown and they won’t rise much (no baking powder or soda!) but they are sumptuous and healthy even with the extra sugar. You could cut down on the sugar if you’d like, I’m at the age where I could care. Getting old has its benefits.

 

