Cold Maine

ANOTHER STORM 020215 B LCO

We have had none of this yet ……. just a dusting. And it’s December 10. Usually by this time we’ve had a storm or two.

The dreaded 4 letter word that begins with S and isn’t shit is going to happen Monday. Five to eight inches of the fluffy stuff will land on us. Okay, I can take 5 to 8 inches. I cannot take 20″ so I’m hoping we don’t get a storm with 20″ of dirt in it!

Today’s plans include trekking to the satellite PO to ship off 39 skeins of yarn I destashed a couple of days ago. This was yarn that I had no use for and I was happy to turn it into yarn I do have a use for now. I’m going to start this:

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This is Mae by Andrea Mowry, one of my absolute favorite designers. I’m using this yarn by Quince and Co. in my absolutely favorite new color, Canvas. I have wanted this yarn ever since I saw the new colors but I worry about light sweaters. (I am a pig who drops food on everything I wear and probably need to use a bib.)

quince-and-co-lark-wool-yarn-canvas_0f32bc08-2529-4988-9a0e-9a81c555031d_1024x1024

I’m also working on this by another favorite designer, Stephen West. His patterns are OUT THERE and I love them. All of them.

12952162575_5d144fc3c6_z

This is going to be fantastic. I have hundreds of skeins of yarn going into this. It’s a chunky or bulky weight knit so I’m holding worsted with fingering weight to get the right gauge. I have a few bulky weight yarns that I can use alone, but I mostly have worsted so holding them together gives me an interesting color blending two yarns together.

And I cannot forget this. Now this little puppy has been driving me nuts. I’ve started it over a thousand times – I swear. It’s supposed to be a thoughtless knit – something to do when you don’t want a challenge. Good God. I keep SCREWING up. I will do this if it kills me but now I’m at the starting over point AGAIN. LOL.

Picture: Miki Barlok

It’s so beautiful and I have hot pink, green, yellow, white with multi-colored speckles and on and on and on. It’s going to be lovely as soon as the  yarn over challenged knitter can stop SCREWING up!

Once I get back from the PO today, you will find me in my knitting chair. What will be on the needles? I did the Eenie Meanie Miney Mo thing and it’s Outline. Sigh.

 

