Cranberries

2055144956_f2f2e273f6_b

We eat a lot of these during the fall. I try to sneak them in everywhere. Not that I have to sneak them …….. everyone loves them.

I just had to share this recipe that I’ve been making for years. I don’t see it much on the foodie websites. It’s simple, fantastic for people who cannot or don’t want to eat eggs and it’s very very good.

  • Saucy Cranberry Dessert
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (I use King Arthur’s Unbleached)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted or very soft
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups cranberries, washed and drained (pick over to see if there’s stems too!)

Put everything in a bowl and mix it up. Preheat your oven to 350 and spray a pie dish or another 9″ pan. Put the dessert into the prepared pan and bake for 25 to 30 minutes until it’s golden brown and puffy.

Now for the dessert part:

  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 butter

Put these in a pan and cook over medium heat just until butter is melted and sugar dissolved. Remove from the heat and add 1 tsp vanilla, if desired. It’s always desired around here!

I find this works best if you cut the dessert and spoon over the sauce yourself. Some people, not to mention any names of the one person who lives with me, tend to get greedy with the sauce.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I think it would be fine even if you didn’t soak them. It wouldn’t be a lot different.

    Like

  2. suth2 says:

    Almost impossiblt to get fresh cranberries here but I am a fan of dried cranberries. This dessert sounds delicious. I wonder if I soaked the dried cranberries whether this dessert would work for me?

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    You can substitute blueberries or cherries (I like the ones in the can from Oregon Fruits – think that’s the name) ……. I think the cherries would be better because they’re sour!!!!!!

    Like

  4. It’s the ONLY thing I’m allergic to. I found out the hard way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

