Chop Chop Chop

I am not talking about carrots or onions for Thanksgiving. I’m talking about fabric.

Being in the sewing room, tied to the machine sewing strips of fabric together, I’ve changed my mind about 100 times on where this is going.

Do I sew the strips together and then cut them up and move them around and sew them together again? Do I just leave the strips as they are and sew them to the center of the piece? Do I add more squares, shapes, pieces and keep making this bigger and bigger and bigger?

God I don’t know. I guess I’m just going to keep playing with it until inspiration strikes. I must say the colors in this batch of fabrics makes me giddy with delight.

IMG_0553

This is just one of many. You can see it coming together on Instagram – my user name is fibercompulsion1 – in case you want to look!

It’s Monday and we have snow. Only 3″ and it’s melting already. But it is snow. Somehow I thought we’d skip snow this year. I don’t mind cold ………

I should start baking for Thanksgiving today but I’m not sure. I may wait until tomorrow because those STRIPS are making me crazy.

My Thanksgiving menu – keep in mind there are two of us –

Baked Delicata Squash with Cranberries and Apples

Mashed Potatoes with Roasted Garlic and Jarlesberg

Cabbage …….. not sure what I’m going to do with this luscious thing. I have a 6-pounder in the fridge. No one can have too much cabbage IMHO

Homemade School Cafeteria Rolls – I never ate much at school, but I ate these!

Something else – not sure what yet – no dressing because I made a ton of that recently and we’re maxed out on that!!

Other news: I watched the finale of Indian Summers last night. At first I wasn’t overly impressed with this Masterpiece series. It seemed to be just a rehash of Jewel in the Crown. Then I kept watching it and got hooked.

If you haven’t seen it, check for repeats. The finale was super-satisfying and I’m glad to hear there’s a second season already wrapped up.

Right before Indian Summers, PBS is re-airing Season 5 of Downton Abbey. It wasn’t the best season of this show in my opinion. I liked others much better. I loved Season 4 when Mary laughed in the piggery with Charles. The whole Mary wants to know if her future husband will be good in bed thing is kind of weird. And then she decides that he’s good in bed but she still doesn’t want to marry him. Whatever. Marry somebody and shut up.

The last season of Downton will start the day before my birthday. I am going to buy the whole season as I have in the past. I can binge watch it and see what happens instead of waiting on cable TV to give me the thrill. I think Lady Violet will die next season – she’s mentioned that she has to be about 150 by now. She went to a wedding in Russia in 1874 and she already had two children. Say she was 30. So she was born in 1844 or thereabouts. Now they’re in 1924 I think. That would have made her 80 last season. About right, that’s close to Dame Maggie Smith’s age. So I think she’s a goner.

They’re going to make a Downton movie. I’ll wait until it comes out on DVD. I don’t do movie theaters being generally not into rude children who don’t know how to behave. Makes my hands itch too much.

That’s Monday – one final word

ostrich-face_113665-1920x1200

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m going to get either a Singer 9980 which has drop feed and can quilt or else a Juki 2000QI. I would love to get another Bernina but they’re so expensive!

    Like

  2. suth2 says:

    When you say you are waiting for a machine to quilt it are you investing in a long arm quilting machine or are you hiring a machine or are you quilting with an ordinary machine that has the capability of quilting?

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    Well here’s what I figure.Nobody has to see it but me. And if I don’t like it – I don’t have to tell anybody! I tend to like African American quilts much more than traditional quilts because they’re so graphic. I’m just going with the graphic part! It’s not so much different because I use shapes, etc. The one I finished earlier (just the top because I’m waiting to get a machine that will quilt it) is pretty much the kind of thing I like. Thankfully!

    It makes sense you don’t celebrate Thanksgiving – it’s something to do with the Native Americans and Pilgrims celebrating their first harvest together here – now it’s more like just a kick-off to Christmas bingeing at the stores …….. part of me would do that ……. luckily I no longer have small children. The one I do have is not cheap though, being a techie!

    Like

  4. suth2 says:

    You sure are busy.
    We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here in Australia but I guess if you were from a North American background and lived in Australia then you would.
    You must have a really artistic talent. There is no way I could make a quilt, making it up as I go along. I am one of those who needs to have a pattern to follow. I envy you.

    Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    Yep. I just need to keep looking at it. I have 2/3 of it sewn together if I’m going to leave it the way it is. I like it so far. I took the 2″ squares and put them in the top with the 3″ squares. And then I have strips …….. we’ll see what happens. It’s an adventure.

    Like

  6. Sounds yummy. I’m sure your dinner will be delicious. You’ll figure the quilt, maybe you just need to keep looking at it from different perspectives. Stand on a chair, etc. The ostrich is fabulous. It’s one of my favorite pictures. Adorable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

