Hurry Up

antique-clock_543456Lately I’ve caught myself almost breathless from trying to rush through everything, even things I want to do, not just chores.

I seem to be stuck on fast forward ……. moving through life without recognizing where I am, what I’m doing, taking time to enjoy my projects.

I rush through knitting a swatch so I can go knit my sock (2 separate pairs actually) and then rush more to finish a scarf and rush more to start a sweater. Rush Rush Rush

All of this goes against who I am. I’m the original living in the moment person. If I have to live in the future or the past I’m so unhappy I can hardly function. Why am I rushing to get to the future? I asked myself this ……….

  • I want to finish things
  • I have too many interests
  • My projects lay there and taunt me, begging to be completed (no, not their fault)
  • The inner clock is out of whack

The last one is it. The inner clock is racing forward ……. putting me in a place where brushing my teeth takes too much time. I’m too focused on time ……… and there isn’t any, not really.

I need to readjust that clock – or pull it out and remove it’s gears and wires or whatever is making it speed up. I need to meditate. I need to sit in my room quietly and not think. By doing nothing, I can do everything.

Now that the outer clock has changed, I do need meditation to jump over that lost hour …….. start recognizing supper time as 4:00 and not 5:00 – waking up at 7, not 6.

Slow down.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Oh me too – I do try but I’m easily distracted! Welcome home! Missed you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. suth2 says:

    I find I skip from one thing to another for fear that I won’t get things done. Really it would be better for me to stick on one thing.

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    I haven’t been meditating much – my favorite meditation routine was on my old iPod that died – poor thing. It’s a matter of getting it from a disc to the iPod …….. if I could only find the disc!!!!!

    Like

  4. Denise says:

    Meditation does sound like a good thing here. It sounds like you haven’t been doing so much of it recently? Or is it that the more rushed you feel, the more you feel you need to meditate?

    Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    I think there just aren’t enough moments ……….

    Like

  6. Jennifer says:

    I think you make a lot of sense!!!!!!

    Like

  7. We are ALWAYS living in the moment…there’s no other place to live:) We may not be FOCUSED on the moment but we sure are living there.

    Like

  8. I love number 3. LOLOL Actually, I don’t think it’s any of those things. I think you are so happy and excited that you can’t stop loving what you are doing. It sounds like excitement and joy to me. When I have a story in my head I block out everything else and ignore people around me because I rush to type, or write it, or get to the next thing. That’s like flying!!!! To be so happy that you can’t stop. Sure you may miss out on time spent doing something but that’s okay because you’re already doing something else. So much fun that you just have to keep going. I read while I brush my teeth, if I’m into a good book. Larry always laughed at me reading while blow drying my hair or doing something else. You go girl. Take a deep breath and GO…have fun and when you fall to the floor, just take a nap and begin again:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

