The Frost is On the Squash

squash_waltham_butternut

It’s taken me years to figure out that I like squash. Any squash …….. summer, winter ah I guess that does it ……… there aren’t any spring or fall squash. Although these should be called fall squash ……….. it’s too cold to leave them out now.

It’s 39 out right now. And it will be colder overnight. It was 65 yesterday and it was so warm I slept with the window open. Now I’ll be under 3 quilts tonight …….. up and down up and down.

Another day today spent slapping the quilt together ……… must say it’s looking fantastic. I like it so much I have to pinch myself. And I’ve already laid out some more fabric to dye. This is stuff I dyed earlier whose colors I don’t like or are too pale or just not what I want. All I have to do is do it again. Simple.

A minor trip to the grocery store – which took FOREVER because everybody and their child was in the store and we were home in an hour and a half. I’m glad my son went with me because we used two carts to get to the car. I bought tons of stuff. It’s getting cold and you just never know when you’ll need raspberry filling for pastry, right???? Or some espresso? A few vegetables like cauliflower, asparagus, squash (!) potatoes grown in Maine and onions and carrots ………… and bok choy. You must have bok choy with General Tsao’s Tofu. At least with my General Tsao’s Tofu.

Back home it seemed to take us forever to get the groceries put away – which is a nice thing because that means we have lots of food for a long time. I always feel so good with lots of food in the house ………. stuff I can make almost any meal out of, things that I can throw together. Sigh. Heaven.

I spent some time knitting and I did photograph Laurie in her un-blocked state. She looks so short and tiny. She will stretch out and be long and fluffy after a good bath so you won’t see the photo until she’s ready. She’s shy that way.

I am working on a swatch for this:

Firth o' Forth by Kate Davies
  

which is Firth O’ Forth by Kate Davies, one of my new favorite designers. I’ve been following Shetland.org on IG since the Shetland Sheep and Wool Festival …….. something I’m going to go to next year. I know I keep saying I’m going here or there but I super bad want to go to Shetland Wool Week. The Shetland Islands remind me of PEI except they’re not as green – just as cold, just as much wind, just as remote. I still want to move to the Shetland Islands. I’m hoping that someday I will get whisked away and wake up in a croft house built in the 1700s (nicely remodeled) and can spin, knit, sew and grow my own potatoes to my heart’s content. Maybe keep a dog to keep Maggie company ………….. day dreams.

Well I have a murder to solve – this is a good one – a truly evil human being escaped from prison knifing people in a London fog while desperately looking for “treasure” and Albert Campion and Charlie Luke the only two who can stop him – Margery Allingham could write, let me tell ya. She wrote rings around Agatha – sorry Agatha – but her plots are so in-depth, so startling and they keep me reading long past the time when I want to shut my eyes. You never did. Sorry.

Off to bed ……… change your clocks tomorrow. I can hardly wait for it to get dark here at 3:30 in the afternoon ……………

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love squash. I just found that out! I like it just roasted and then mashed with cinnamon ……. so good. I’m doing a turkey breast tonight (meat is necessary for offspring!) and stuffing and I think a nice cauliflower gratin – I’ll share that with him if I have to!

    Like

  2. Denise says:

    I think a squash soup would be nice… my daughter likes soup, I might make her a nice treat this weekend.

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    Wouldn’t that be nice? Think of the money I could make! And the food you could eat ……… I feel a cold weather cooking binge coming up ……….

    Like

  4. So depressing…the time change AGAIN. Dark. Can’t wait to see the quilt. The sweater is gorgeous. I want you to invent a computer that allows you to hand food to me through the screen. Please.

    Like

  5. omtatjuan3 says:

    I like butternut and acorn squash

    Like

Leave a Reply

