Hell of a Supper

Blue Plate Special
There isn’t anything better than fall in Maine. Nothing. Not one thing. And tonight, I’m going to eat like I mean it.

I promise you I’ll get pictures of these delicacies before we dive into them with knives and forks and spoons if we have to. I’m so into tonight’s supper, I could use a shovel.

First up – the star of the show – red potatoes, NOT PEELED, with roasted garlic. Yum. I use 4 lbs of potatoes – hell I’d use more but I think the bag was only 4 lbs. I cut the eyes and spots out and quarter them so they’ll cook faster. Then I mash them with butter, milk, salt and pepper.

The garlic is roasting in foil in the oven while the other main dish is baking. I’m also roasting a Spanish onion ………. for another little treat. Once the garlic is done, in about an hour, it will go plop in the mashed potatoes and the whole thing will go into a casserole dish, bread crumbs on top – more butter and I will bake it. I also have some cheddar I might put on top. Hmm. Sounds good.

The second big deal is butternut squash. This is a simple yet beloved dish. Cinnamon, mashed roasted squash and BOOM into a casserole dish with a little butter. Perfect. No sugar – squash is sweet enough all by itself. This habit of adding sugar to everything makes me crazy.

And then – the pièce de ré·sis·tance, shredded cabbage sautéed with roasted garlic and that delicious roasted Spanish onion ………. stir-fried just a little bit – enough to make it translucent, not enough to kill it. That’s the problem with cabbage – I know all of you are going YUCK CABBAGE? But that’s only because some misguided soul in your past boiled the piss out of it and it tasted like the inside of somebody’s sock. Cabbage should be coaxed into being cooked – not thrown into a pan of boiling water!!!!!!! Would you like being thrown into a pan of boiling water? I say no.

Supper tonight ………. ah.

P.S. I added some red pepper flakes to the cabbage ……… mmmmmmmmm.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    It is green cabbage – we only have savoy, green and purple. For white cabbage I would use what we call Chinese cabbage.

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hi! I remove the eyes, which are the only bad part.mifmyou have potatoes with green under the skin, that’s not good either. I use red potatoes and they’ve ripened completely (the ones with green under the skin haven’t). So many nutrients are in the skin! Also we eat a lot of potato skins here -our favorite restaurant in Detroit took potato peelings, deep-fat fried them and put mozzarella on them and melted it! It was exquisite!

    Like

  3. Denise says:

    That looks so good. Is there a reason you don’t peel? I get hell from my kids if I don’t peel. I used to eat a lot of white cabbage, but not recently, as you are right, you need to be organised and give it time and love.

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    Go see it again – a picture of my plate has been added!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  5. If I can’t come and live with you then why are YOU DOING THIS TO ME??? OMG I love cabbage and haven’t had in in soooooo many, many years. This post should be rated R-F for those who want to eat the food you make but can’t pull it through their computer screens. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

