What Happens in October ……… Goes on All Winter

il_570xN.743153422_cowh

That’s what happens in October. It starts getting cooler, and I start baking bread. I do bake bread in the summer months, but that bread is usually a quick focaccia, not the bread that takes me all day. The bread from this cookbook that we can’t live without.

I don’t know how I survived, baking bread from the age of 11, without having a copy of The Tassajara Bread Book. I found my book at a library book sale on the Island, right before we left. It was 50 cents. I gladly paid it. I have used that book several times a month since then.

There are all sorts of wonderful recipes inside. Like the one for Walnut Brown Sugar Cake or Bagels or wonderful whole wheat muffins you can stick anything in and they turn out miraculous. And the bread …….. oh, the bread.

bread2

Tomorrow I’ll get out the really big mixing bowl I have for bread – I can barely lift it. And I’ll make the sponge and let it rise for a couple of hours. Then I’ll mix in the rest of the flour, the oil and the salt and knead it for 15 minutes. And let it rise again, punch it down and let it rise again, until finally I can make it into loaves with my favorite french rolling pin, folding and pinching until the loaves are perfect. And then it will rise again.

Finally – it will bake for almost an hour. And we’ll have fresh bread enough to last a couple of weeks. Provided we don’t eat it all tomorrow evening hot out of the oven.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Find a bakery CLOSE and very quickly. Put bread in microwave for 20 seconds a slice and butter it. Eat.

    Like

  2. You already know how I feel about your bread. I think photographs of it should be illegal, or at least banned. Cuz, now that’s what I’ll be thinking about all day and no matter how I try and reach through the screen it won’t let me in. 😦

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    And there’s more – Tassajara Cooking and Tassajara Recipes – lovely, simple things easy to fix and eat!

    Like

  4. Denise says:

    There’s a good thing that came off the Island with you. I like the cover of the book too, very simple and traditional and retro but that’s all it needs to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

