The Deep End

There are those of you who will remember the beginning of my sock knitting adventures. And the several sweaters I started and then reported that I was going to look for another pattern, or some other excuse.

You all know I haven’t been knitting for long …… just a lot recently. And I can handle socks now and sweaters that are mostly stockinette stitch and even Laurie by Josee Paquin which has texture stitches and is coming out really cool. But. I have never done color work or lace. Never.

So ………. we’re celebrating Plucktober in The Plucky Knitters Group on Ravelry. It’s quite a group. Just chatting in the forums is more fun than you can imagine. A lot of the gang is heading to Grand Rapids Michigan this week for Shindig. When I saw the Shindig notices go up, I was a Newbie and I had no idea what that was – none. Now I know. It’s a great big party with people knitting all night in the lobby and having lots of fun with each other and acting as crazy as possible while not getting kicked out of the hotel for acting crazy. Like that. Anyway I hope I get to go next year ……… I can outdo crazy anytime.

So I’m setting my projects for Plucktober. And I’m going to do this (please break out in loud laughter, I know Gigi will)

Copyright Joji Locatelli
Copyright Joji Locatelli

It’s called Make A Wish and I hereby make a wish that I can do this without pulling my hair out. I think I can I think I can.

I’m going to use this, which I think is really neutral and toned-down and kind of business-like.

IMG_0095_medium2

Don’t you??????????

That won’t be all. I need to really churn out the stitches starting October 1. I’ll probably stick in some mittens and some fingerless mitts or something or maybe even start a sweater with the Bohemian Blue Crewbie that will be on its way to me next week. Ha. Two sweaters on the needles. I’ll need to stay up all night.

Expect another post about how I’ve decided to do another pattern …………

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Goodness no! I’m in Plucktober with The Plucky Knitters Group and that is enough to be keeping up with …….. several of the group have either made the sweater or are starting it with me. Thank God. This should definitely be a challenge!

    Like

  2. soknitsome says:

    Lovely blue! Are you in any of the Joji fall KALs this year?

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    Thanks! I got the pattern, scratched my head. Got Knit Companion – went nuts trying to figure it out. Put it up for the night. Going to bed. Starting again tomorrow. Such is a knitting life!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jennifer says:

    I’m not either. I got a new app to help with the pattern and it’s making me pull out my hair. Jesus.

    Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    It’s kind of wild! I love it though!

    Like

  6. Wow I love that blue! I just finished a scarf in a cobalt like that!

    Like

  7. That color is amazing. I am positive you can do it. As for how much hair you will have left…I’m not making any bets. Beautiful sweater.

    Like

  8. All good things. Awesome cobalt blue shade! I love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

