Layers on Layers

IMG_0085

This is one of those pieces that needed more work. The white spots are too white although I love the colors and the form they’re taking. Today – it is stuck in a dye bath of Wet Sands after being pleated and rolled up. The dye bath looks like mud. That made me nervous. I’m not going to batch this piece for 24 hours …… instead it will come out to play in a little over 2.5 hours. I can’t take the mud for long.

I had another piece that I have no photo of yet. It’s turquoise blue with light purple and some god-awful red in it – thankfully hardly any of the red. That – along with 3 other smaller pieces – is sitting in a batch of Kingfisher Blue …… somewhat blue-green-dark. I rolled that piece as a resist. The dye will penetrate the parts it does and not the parts it doesn’t. That also will get 3 hours and no more.

My piece from yesterday ……. what can I say? It was turquoise and ugly red. I pleated in and rolled it up jelly roll style and stuck some rubber bands on to hold it in shape. I batched that in deep marine blue overnight. Well. This morning that piece is the most incredible graphic piece I’ve done so far. It’s like looking through a screen of blue to see the other colors. Winner.

Now I ask – can I cut these up to make quilts for the wall? Yes. I can. I think I can.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Denise says:

    Oh, they are so sneaky!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennifer says:

    It’s all a learning process! I do wish the dye companies would call something putrid green brown instead of “wet sands” 😀😁😃😄

    Like

  3. Denise says:

    I think it’s such an interesting process that you can work through something that doesn’t look good to make something better out of it. I think you really have to understand your medium for that.

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    I just got it out of the dryer – the muddy one. Hmm. Well I thought Wet Sands would be a nice soft sand color. No. Dark olive greenish. OK so one piece looks not lovely to me but I’m going to use discharge paste and get rid of parts of the greeny olive stuff and overdye it again in turquoise and maybe orange or something. Ah experimentation. I am loving this ……. could have skipped the mud though!

    Like

  5. Or, you can use it as wall art or make a blouse or jacket out of it. It sounds so gorgeous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

