A Word About Supper

Bionaturae-Organic-Pappardelle-Egg-Pasta-799210825021I do like simple. I like simple suppers that require a few ingredients but yet taste like heaven. And tonight’s supper fit the bill ……..

I made Broccoli Pasta tonight. Years ago I found a recipe for Broccoli Pasta in a vegetable cookbook that had possibilities, but needed tweaking. You see, pasta is not pasta without garlic – lots of garlic.

So I devolved (is that a word?) my own recipe using broccoli and organic pappardelle. Here’s how I do it:

1 head broccoli cut into florets (you can save the stalks for soup or peel them and chop them fine and put them in the pasta too!

6 cloves (yes) garlic

4 sun-dried tomatoes, reconstituted in warm water

1 tsp salt

1 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil – I use robust flavored

1.5 cups grated parmesan (please buy imported, not domestic)

Bring a pasta pot of water to a rolling boil with 2 T salt. When it boils, put the broccoli in and let it return to a boil. I like broccoli crisp tender, but in this recipe well cooked is fine.

In the meantime, mince the garlic and put the tomatoes in a bowl to soften.

When the broccoli is done to your liking, scoop it out with a sieve and place it in a large skillet. I use a 12″ with a cover. Pour half the olive oil over the broccoli and mix it up. Push it to one side and turn on the heat to medium high. Put the garlic in the skillet with another tablespoon of oil and watch it carefully. Burnt garlic is bad.

Leave the hot water at the boil and add the organic pappardelle. I can usually tell by looking if it’s done or not, but test if there’s any doubt. I like my pasta al dente’.

Once the garlic is translucent, mix it with the broccoli and add a couple of ladles of pasta water to stop the frying.

When the pasta is done scoop it out into the skillet. Mix everything well. Turn off the heat and add the parmesan, pepper and tomatoes if using. Mix well and add another ladle or two of pasta water.

Serve with a tossed salad and just wait for the rave reviews. My son told me tonight that this is the best meal he’s had for ages. He said that last week too when we had the General Tsao’s Tofu. Guess he’s glad I’m cooking again!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Inese Poga Art plus Life says:

    I will definitely try that, it sounds good and quick.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennifer says:

    We ate the whole thing. All of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Maria says:

    Sounds amazing! Thank you for sharing šŸ‘šŸ»šŸ‘šŸ»

    Liked by 1 person

  4. soknitsome says:

    Sounds good šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

