Moment Living

 

sunset

I do tend to run on – and I repeat myself – but this is worth repeating – live in the moment. Be here now. Don’t live in the past or the future because they are both a dream. Learn to live from your soul – your center – be a witness and an observer of your life.

Living from a state of crisis is exhausting. I grew up living in crisis after crisis.  For years I allowed all actions and memories of my past control my present. I worried so much about the future – in-between regretting the past – that I was always hyper, upset, forcing forcing forcing.

I started exploring metaphysical subjects at an early age, around the age of 11. Funny that 11 is a power number. Anyway – when I was very young – less than 5 – I can remember feeling that I didn’t belong here. I felt like I had come from somewhere else and I wasn’t supposed to be in a human form. I would look at myself and think how strange I looked.

I’ve fought living in the moment for absolutely what feels like a century – probably longer. I just “got” it in the last couple of years. Being faced with financial restraints, a spouse who was terminally ill and other responsibilities was the catalyst for me to change.

Sitting in my home on PEI – feeling very isolated from the kind of community I dreamed about – I found first Chopra’s The Book of Secrets. I had given a talk at the Montague Public Library on African-American Quilts and the Underground Railroad. It was a speech I’ve done many times. The librarian, a good friend, gave me a gift certificate to a bookstore in Montague that had just opened. I couldn’t have afforded to buy the book if she hadn’t done this. And that’s how I got The Book of Secrets.

In Book of Secrets Chopra talks about Vasishta and his notion that he imagined Vasishta on a meadow with all of the others sleeping. Vasishta is the only one awake. I started searching for Vasishta and found a translation called Vasishta’s Yoga. I have read this more than 700 page book all the way through 3 times and am starting on a fourth.

That book is the one that made living in the moment real to me. It made me jump from the razor’s edge to the great unknown. It informed my soul. The allegories, discussions and vignettes in the book are all geared to being awake while sleeping – don’t take that literally – it means being asleep to the world and awake to your soul. Sleeping while awake. Living in the moment.

I understand that living in the moment is a hard state to achieve. It takes determination, meditation, persistence and faith. It takes forgetting the bad things and recognizing that whatever your circumstances are now – nothing has changed because nothing has ever been created. Ah you say – haven’t I been created? No. There has always only been Brahma, Buddha, God, Krishna, Christ – there has always only been that Spirit. There is no other thing. No-thing.

Duality is present in the Maya (illusion) state of our world. Good Bad Right Wrong Right Left Love Hate Peace War Wealth Poverty ………. in the great Cosmic Consciousness, in reality – there is no value judgment on good/bad – there is no duality. There only is.

Duality is what stops spiritual growth. Ego fights to get to good states and rails against bad. I am often reminded of this when a national tragedy occurs or a world tragedy. People ask “How can God let this happen?” We automatically become vigilantes looking to right wrongs. We hate.

How can God let this happen? There is no happening in Cosmic Consciousness. God is not in unreality or Maya. God is showing us what we have created in our lives with our thoughts – he has created nothing. No-thing. If there is no creation there can be no bad or good. There just is.

This is important and hard to explain. No creation means that everything is one thing. One Cosmic Consciousness. There is only that. We are focused in the lila or play of life. We have roles to play and we must play them well. The Cosmic Consciousness  wants us to join in living with all in all and all in one. We are like drops of water in the ocean. We are attached to our body and mind. Our soul can’t be heard with all the earth noise. Unless we quiet the earth noise we become part of it.

The soul is our witness. Both the observer and the observed are the same. The lover and the loved are one. There is no other. The thought in the mind is the object. There is no object without the thought – it is the same.

Sitting on the porch one day with my friend David, we were discussing my vegetarianism. David said no where that he ever read in spiritual literature does it say not to eat meat or not to kill animals in a cruel manner for food. He said “Anyway I think there is just one Cow and he keeps agreeing that we can kill him and eat him.” Logically I looked at that thought and replied “I can get that. Just like there’s only One of us.” David was shocked. Only one person too? His reaction made me laugh. It was okay for there to be one cow, but not One Being.

Which leads to the Golden Rule – Do unto others as you would have them do unto you – well what if,  when you do unto others you ARE doing unto you? The rule makes sense either way you think about it. If you harm someone else you are harming yourself. Love one another.

We’re in the age of Kali Yuga in the Hindu religion now. The Goddess Kali is described as this in Wikipedia;

The name Kali comes from kāla, which means black, time, death, lord of death, Shiva. Since Shiva is called Kāla—the eternal time—Kālī, his consort, also means “Time” or “Death” (as in time has come). Hence, Kāli is the Goddess of Time and Change. Although sometimes presented as dark and violent, her earliest incarnation as a figure of annihilator of evil forces still has some influence. Various Shakta Hindu cosmologies, as well as Shākta Tantric beliefs, worship her as the ultimate reality or Brahman. She is also revered as Bhavatārini (literally “redeemer of the universe”). Comparatively recent devotional movements largely conceive Kāli as a benevolent mother goddess.[1]

Kālī is represented as the consort of Lord Shiva, on whose body she is often seen standing. Shiva laid in path of Kali, whose foot on Shiva subdues her anger. She is time manifestation of other Hindu goddesses like DurgaBhadrakaliSatiRudrani,Parvati and Chamunda. She is the foremost among the Dasa Mahavidyas, ten fierce Tantric goddesses.

Black, time, death, lord of death – sound familiar? As a practicing astrologer I often found Pluto in either transit or prominent in the natal chart of a client. Pluto or Minerva brings forth all of the garbage in the world so that we may look upon it and remove it. This force has been operating for quite a few years. In this period we have had terrorist attacks, tsunami, massive earthquakes, destruction on a massive scale and murders and other crimes wherein the murderer is particularly heinous. We see the incredible and unbelievable culture of rape in the home of Krishna where it does not belong nor anywhere in our world. We see evil in all its array. But what if the evil is our creation – not God’s?

What if all of the attention we place on these murderers, rapists, horrible natural disasters and other horrendous acts of venality create more of this?  What if we are what we see? Would not then it be possible to change these manifestations of evil by peaceful means? Would it not!

And now once again we come back to moment living. We come back to reflect that there is no creator because the Cosmic Consciousness was never created. It just is. If we are all one and the Cosmic Consciousness was never created, we were never created. No notions. No death, hate, war, murder, hurricanes, tsunamis – no-thing. That’s in a perfect world – which we may never see – a world where everyone actively seeks the happiness of everyone else. Where everyone has compassion FOR EVERYONE, not just those who think like them, hold the same political beliefs as them, have the same moral values as them. That’s a world where compassion rules all other states. Because if we were never created – no hate, no murder, no rape, no beatings, no gangs, no nothing, these things would not need to be studied and a way found to stop them – because we would not create them. We would all be compassionate toward everyone.

No life – no death. Only jiva (soul)  looking for a human experience. Getting caught in Maya. And knowing deep down at soul level that we are only playing a role in the lila of the Cosmic Consciousness ……… and being determined to play that role – whatever it is – with compassion for everyone and every thing in this world.

love

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Sort of ephemeral isn’t it? It’s a habit I think. When my mind starts to wander ……… contemplating the past or the future …….. I yank it back. I try never to rush through things to get to something else – enjoying what I’m doing right now even if it’s brushing my teeth. 🙂

    Like

  2. Denise says:

    I’ve always found the moment, now, a hard thing to deal with, since I was a child. I have always been quite disturbed by how nothing now is, because it always escapes.

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    Sounds like fun to me. What world problems we could solve. We need a compassion magic fairy to hit the world with compassion dust.

    Like

  4. I think this is all our creation. I think this is what we are. I think that as the civilizing bits (manners, respect) fall away we are just seeing more and more of the true nature of man. Violence, greed, war, death. I wish you lived closer so we could get together and talk for ten hours. We could eat and chat and not stop until we fell asleep. Then we could do it again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

