Today I Decided To ………..

IMG_0026

I decided it was time to figure out how to finish this sweater. It’s been hibernating since December. December, 2013. That long ago ……

I didn’t like the way the pattern said to complete the band around the neck. It involved knitting k1p1 ribbing for 60+ inches, figuring out when it was exactly the right length and then seaming it onto the sweater. It was going to look like this ………..

elizabeth_main_medium

I decided I didn’t want to do that. So I took it upstairs to the sewing room and let it stew for 1.5 years. Now I know what I want to do. I even tried the sweater on and I like it. It fits and will be cool with my new collar, etc., on it. Then it will look like this:

photo credit  Meg Myers
photo credit Meg Myers

Only it will be in these colors:badmitten's picturePhoto Credit BadMittens

And hopefully, I will like it better. Wish I’d chosen Meg’s color …… no, I’m not going to do another one. Well, maybe another one in a solid color – something bright and cheerful, ah like gray.

I haven’t been knitting for long. I learned how to cast on and knit and purl and bind off when I was in my teens and then I didn’t pick it up again until 2012. I needed to quit work to stay home with my husband and I needed something to do. Everything was over my head, not that my head was paying much attention at the time. Now, after 22 pairs of socks and counting (another pair on the needles) I’m feeling like I could take on a challenge. Like picking up stitches all the way around that sweater. So I did. Imagine my delight when I all of a sudden figured out how to pick up and knit stitches without 1) using a crochet hook and transferring the stitch to a needle and 2) without using two needles to actually knit them on. I finally ……. and this was the most awkward thing I’ve ever done …… just started picking them up with one needle and it was EASY. Two and a half years and I’ve mastered something new! At this rate I’ll know how to knit lace when I’m 98. Provided I can still hold the needles and see by then.

Still waiting for the package from the UK. My dear mail man usually makes it here by 5:00. I have no idea what he does the rest of the day. There are only 37000 people here in Bangor and I know we have more than one mail man ………..

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    It sure does. I tried spinning a while back and I couldn’t have done it without help from the web. Imagine way back 20 years ago …….. I think I just got internet then and it was nowhere near as helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. suth2 says:

    I don’t know how on earth we managed without the web, it just makes things so much easier especially if you don’t have the luxury of having someone close by who could show you how to do things.

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    Thanks Heather! When I can knit as quickly as you do, I’ll be thrilled. I was so glad to finish a sweater in a month – now on to the next. I’m getting to the point where learning something knew in a pattern doesn’t scare me off. Thank god for tutorials on the web!

    Like

  4. suth2 says:

    A great sense of satisfaction when you complete something that has been hanging around for a while.
    You are really enjoying the new skills you are learning with your knitting. You have certainly produced some great garments.

    Like

  5. I love that…”I have no idea what he does the rest of the day.” OMG so funny. Cracking me up. The sweater is beautiful and I’m in awe of you 22 pairs of socks. In case you didn’t see my request. Please let me know how you got rid of the fleas because my friend has tried everything for 10 months and nothing is working. She’s going crazy. Two cats and she keeps trying and trying to no avail. I can’t wait to see your finished sweater.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

