Arty Knits

on

Wisteria__4__medium2

I have had an exhausting week. The Plucky Knitter announced an Anniversary Update for today, Sunday and Monday sometime this week. I’m so tired I can’t remember how long ago she let us know ……….

Since that day, which was probably Monday or Tuesday, I have been doing “research” to get the right colors for the right patterns. I have mercilessly carved a yarn budget out of the monthly budget and forced myself to stick to it. I have looked at thousands of patterns. I have made a list of all the colors available along with what I want to make from them. And then I add up the price.

Last night I decided to search for different patterns because honestly those preppy sweaters I see everywhere do not appeal to me. I already look old enough without slapping on a piece of clothing that looks like it walked out of the 50s. I need DIFFERENT. Some of you may know I make my clothes and I’m not going to make anything that doesn’t look arty because if it doesn’t, I will not wear it. Ever.

About 45 pages into my 50 pages of possibilities, I found her. Yumiko Alexander. That is her vest pattern. I will have that vest. I also found a cardigan called Sea Foam for which I got the yarn today. I got Pinky Swear ……….. loosely described as blurplepink or something like that. Anyway it is fantastic.

I decided at about 11:55, five minutes before the update went live, that I would only buy one thing today and go back to the update on Sunday when more colors might be added. I’m looking for something organic to make Sand Dunes out of, another Alexander pattern.

I get to the website, right? I CANNOT load the site where I need to be. Too much traffic. I keep trying and I don’t refresh the page because it’s working. I get on – I get the Pinky Swear and check out (you have to check out after each thing you add to your cart or it may not be there if you take the time to shop for more!). So …….. then I get Green Goddess to go with a tee I’m making and voila’ I’m out of there in 10 minutes.

Donuts were mentioned copiously during the update chatter on the group forum. Before and after the update! Actually I am too tired to go out for a donut …….. I stayed up until 11 last night and got up at 8 today and I need rest …………. See this yarn buying stuff is just exhausting!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    You want to see SOCKS? I got socks! Food? I have been reheating, as in frozen food, not much cooking. I am, however, baking bread today 🙂

    Like

  2. OMG you are a yarn woman all the way. 🙂 You haven’t put any finished things on your blog lately. Or food. I’m waiting:)

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    I know, right? Just can’t get the motivation!!!!!! Now that’s lazy!

    Like

  4. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    It’s national donut day today…

    Like

Leave a Reply

