Lemonade Socks

on

IMG_0020

Well the socks are fuzzy, so why not the picture? 🙂 This is a pair (thank god they took FOREVER) of socks for which I hand-painted the yarn. I was playing around trying to get color that doesn’t pool and I did do that. But I am less than thrilled knitting with a single ply high twist sock yarn …….. no spring in it …….. That’s why they seemed to take forever.

I got this on the needles last night  …… and in my somewhat dark living room, the colors didn’t wow me. This morning though, they’re fine. I don’t like knitting colors I don’t like ……

IMG_0021

I’m now on pair 22 in the mega sock marathon. My son raves about his socks and always remarks about how much he hated all those plain socks he’s worn since he was a sprout. There’s a little adventure in that artist’s soul of his for sure.

And then today, in-between vacuuming (have I mentioned how much I hate cleaning house?) and straightening up the living room and emptying out reusable K-cups and generally doing the chores, I went onto Churchmouse Yarns and Teas and bought some more Plucky Knitter yarn in the colors she dyed specifically for Churchmouse. Let me tell you, it was a scramble. I initially wanted a purple, an awesome yellow and a mellow blue. The blue and yellow I got and I should have gotten the purple first, I think, because it sold out by the time I went back to get it. Sigh. So I ended up with a nice orange-rusty color in place of the purple which will be fine for my plans. Now to download the pattern I’m going to make and then, wait till payday again to get some needles. My needles have to be Signature Needle Arts. I. Cannot. Knit. With. Any. Other. Needles.

It’s beautiful here in Vacationland, all green and everything is blooming, although if you came here now, you’d for sure need a sweater or a sweatshirt! I’m freezing still. I have on my socks and a hoodie and I’m inside. The best part for me is a no-electricity month because I’m not heating or cooling ……… I love that. My bill will drop down to $60 or less and that will be dreamy. More yarn. 🙂

There is another Plucky Knitter update on Monday and Tuesday. Sigh. Can’t do it. So I’m pretty sure there will be another one in June and my pennies will be saved for that. I did join the Classics Club and I’ll be getting a skein of Plucky Feet every other month to hold me if I have to skip an update or two. Plus there is a ton on the destash board on Ravelry.

I got my first Plucky on Thursday and I love it. I got this really deep saturated purple on Feet, Chamomile on Sweater, Lollipop Guild on Bello Worsted (was that a value!) and Magnet and Steel on Bulky and Bohemian Blue on Trusty. Luckily I have no problems with single skeins ……… hats and mittens are always needed and if not for us, there are a lot of folks here in Maine who need hats and mittens and the Salvation Army Church is right down my street ……. just 4 homes away. I can knit and do good at the same time. Which beats the hell out of vacuuming! 🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. You can’t beat a bit of colour in your life. These look grewat.
    Best wishes
    Charlotte

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennifer says:

    I love color! The next ones are deep purple!

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    😺so far, so good!

    Like

  4. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    You are one talented woman…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I couldn’t agree more. I love the color of the new socks you just started. The finished pair are fabulous too:) I’m so glad you’re having fun:)

    Like

  6. Denise says:

    Doing good for the body in keeping people warm with socks, and doing good for the soul with COLOUR!

    Like

Leave a Reply

