Time to Cook Supper

on

timthumb.php

Okay I’m cheating. I don’t make ravioli, although I’m sure someone will tell me it’s easy. Ha. I tried it a long time ago and all the filling ended up outside the pasta. Not good. So this is the ravioli.

We’re having this plus a marinara sauce and freshly baked breadsticks. My marinara is better than any I can buy, so I make it. Here’s what I do:

5 large cloves garlic, finely minced

1 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes plus three squeezes of tomato paste (from a tube)

3 T pesto

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp basil

I “fry” the garlic in evoo until it smells like heaven on earth, then I add the tomatoes and the paste. Into that I add the pesto, oregano and basil and some freshly ground black pepper. I don’t add salt – are you kidding? There’s enough salt in there already. I let this simmer for at least 40 minutes to get the flavors melded.

If I’m feeling adventurous I grate in some REAL parmesan after the sauce is off the heat.

I cook the ravioli in a super large pot of boiling salted water.

My foccacia dough makes great breadsticks – or you can take it easy and buy some ready to bake. How easy is this? If you’re really hungry – add a salad.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Denise says:

    No such thing as too much garlic!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennifer says:

    IKR! I maybe use too much garlic, but it sure it luscious!

    Like

  3. Denise says:

    I don’t think it makes any difference what the ravioli is when the sauce is as delicious as yours sounds. The thing that got me was your description of the garlic frying – makes me hungry!

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    Ha – I wish you weren’t either ….. I’d love to cook for you. I saw your picture but I thought you had feathers and a pretty little beak? I guess I’m wrong ………. but you look gorgeous!

    Like

  5. I wish you weren’t so far away:(

    Like

Leave a Reply

