Color and Happiness

Colored Pencils

I’m not sure where my love for color entered my life. It could have been in kindergarten when I got to mess with fingerpaints? I would have been 5 then and color has informed my whole life.

I love rich, over saturated colors, calm milky colors and colors that speak to me of the sea, like turquoise and white and pine and gray. I love wearing gray which makes me feel homey and comfortable.

From fingerpainting to painting to quilting with wild fabric to making my own clothing with bright colors to knitting with bright yarn — all of these have made me happy. My next step is going to be knitting with more than one color at a time. This should be good, right? Sure, just as long as I can keep from tangling the yarns and knit right and left-handed. Since I’m left-handed, the left-handed bit should be easy – but you see, Mom was right-handed and where else could I learn knitting? No where else but from Mom. So now I get to retrain myself just a little ……… and I’m ready.

I’ll be using directions and patterns from this book –

latvian mittens

and you can see just a few of the lovely mitten patterns in this book. There’s another title I’m going after too, next month, after I read this one cover to cover and plot my mittens. I cannot wait.

My late husband was from Latvia. He is currently thrilled to bits with the idea that I will attempt a Latvian mitten pattern. How do I know this? Because everything I did fiber-wise, thrilled him to bits. So he can look over my shoulder and let me know which patterns he likes the best. And I will knit them.

I’m finishing up the most beautiful socks in Blue Nile by Madelinetosh –

4771.BLUENILE.zoom.1

and I’m wearing my Mad-tosh socks. Once this last (second!) sock is done, I’m going to take a break from sock knitting for a bit and start my sweater from this yarn:

diana

which I so gladly found at Imagiknit in San Francisco. All of you knitters dying to get hold of colors of Malabrigo Mechita that you can’t find anywhere? Go to imagiknit.com – they have them all!!!!!!!

That sweater is going to take some time …….. and since none of the 6 skeins I got look remotely like another one, I will be alternating two skeins at a time. It’s a good time of year for a long project  and if I get antsy I can always cast on another sock, right?

And then, when the weather gets awesome, I’m  going to Belfast and I’m going to visit Heavenly Socks Yarn shop. Oh yes, more color …………….

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Denise says:

    Colours make things warm and rich and exciting.
    So that’ll be why they resonate so much with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennifer says:

    I can’t wait to get started on those mittens. I know it will be a challenge and I will probably carry my floats too tight at the beginning, but I will persist. Knitting is such a joy and when there are beautiful colors and patterns it even gets better! I may have to do hats or something else with that yarn. None of the 6 skeins match very well and I know I won’t wear a sweater, so it can hibernate a while until I figure something out. If I knit sweaters like you knit sweaters, I might be willing to attempt another one!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. suth2 says:

    So happy to see you are going to try stranded knitting. I know you will be super successful at it. Just look at what an expert you are at socks and the struggle you had with your first pair. The challenge will suit you down to the ground.

    I was thinking about how you said you didn’t wNt to make another sweater but what to do with the yarn. You could make a hap. There are some lovely patterns out there.

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    I think I might need a lot of luck since it looks difficult! But what would life be if everything were easy?

    Like

  5. Inese Poga Art Gallery says:

    That is great, and I share your love to color! Latvian patterns are very unique since they are extremely old. I was surprised that they somehow reminded the native Indian patterns. Each pattern has a meaning, therefore you can knit in love or protection or similar things. Good luck!

    Like

  6. Jennifer says:

    The mittens will be damned hard too! I love me a bit of a challenge, I do!

    Like

  7. The yearn is truly beautiful and the blue is fabulous. I can’t wait to see the finished products, although the yarn is actually lovely all by its self. The mittens will be wonderful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

