We All Like It

diana

This yarn is rarer than um, something I can’t think of right off the top of my head.  Rare as heck actually. This is Malabrigo’s new Mechita yarn – a gorgeous single ply in unbelievably bold colors. This color is called Diana. I don’t care what its name is, I want it. All of my normal suppliers have Mechita. None of them have it in this color. I want this color. I wanted this yarn the moment I heard it was coming out …… all of  my mittens are knit in Malabrigo and I did a sweater in Malabrigo worsted over the winter. It seems I’m not going to get this yarn. Nobody has it anymore. That color – among a few other contenders – is gone. Maybe. There are thousands of places to look …… and I will look at them all.

Do I want this color because I love it or because I can’t get any? I’m contrary that way. I must have been hell to live with (I can hear my husband laughing from the other side right now saying “MUST?”) My son doesn’t seem to think so,  but then again we don’t get on each other’s nerves. Being a lot alike helps I think. Or a lot non-alike. One or the other.

Since Friday, I have been searching for some store, any store, any website anywhere that had this in stock so I could buy it. I just can’t imagine living without it. I have the perfect cardigan pattern that I am willing to try if I can just get my hands on this stuff. And I would rather knit socks the rest of my life than make a sweater. Sweaters take a long time.

Luckily, I am on an austerity program. I can sit here and pat myself on the back that I can’t find this yarn because I’m being really good. I can’t afford to be anything else. But I do have to have stuff to do …….. so hard to rationalize my way into spending money when I just keep thinking “groceries” “oil”, etc. I did promise myself that next month no yarn will enter the house. I have plenty of sock yarn and if I run out (not possible in a month) I can just wait until May to make more socks.

Speaking of socks, I found myself knitting green socks on St. Patrick’s Day. One of them was done, one is on the needles …… and how pretty is this?

IMG_0003

It is greener in person, but there are areas of blue-green and brownish green. This is new sock yarn for me, Madelinetosh Sock and I love it. I think this is going to be a great alternative to Koigu, which I also love but the skeins are small in yardage. I’m wearing my Koigu socks now and my feet are warm ……… not an easy thing to accomplish in Maine, where it is 19 degrees right now and the wind is blowing a gale.

We’ve had some kind of winter weather since the weekend and it keeps on coming. We usually (always) get a storm for St. Patrick’s Day and this year was no exception. We’ve gotten so used to snow that a storm with 4 to 6 inches doesn’t even leave an impression. I will be glad though to see green grass, to go outside without boots on and without a coat. I want spring. Now.

While I’m waiting for spring, I’m going to look for that yarn. Hard.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I am so NOT that person either. I don’t do joining! Luckily we do do things, just not things other people think are things! I do not want someone else either ……. I cannot imagine having to deal with another one! I knew him, he knew me, we got along. That’s not going to happen again.

    Like

  2. I’m glad you’re even a bit better. Maybe nice weather will help a little. Nothing really helps, you just get used to feeing that way. I hope you get your yarn. I agree. It’s beautiful. When your husband dies, those who have no idea what it’s like, tell you to DO things. LOL They have no idea that just getting out of be IS doing something. I waned to kill people who told me to join something. OMG I’m so not that person. Nor do I want someone else. Sometimes the best thing people can do for others is leave them alone.

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    That yarn is something, isn’t it? I do want it bad. I am doing better but I still feel like something is wrong. As much as he drove me nuts, I miss him like hell.

    Like

  4. I can see why you want it. It really is beautiful. You are so talented. Your socks are beautiful…but not pictures of your lovely loaves of bread, sigh. You are on a quest, my friend. Saddle up and get going. I’m sure it will be fun trying to find the yarn. Maybe you’ll get it by May:) Hope you’re doing better and feeling less like you’re at the edge of the pit. Death does that to one. Thinking about you and truly happy to see you:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

