48

IMG_0364

It’s going to be 48 degrees tomorrow. All of this “stuff” (I wanted to put in a rude word here) will start running down my driveway to the street. A lot of it will end up in my basement. I don’t feel so bad though, because a lot of it will end up in everyone’s basement. I am not alone.

This is the time of year when I start to feel “antsy”. Crawly, get me out of here, please give me something different to do antsy. I clean obsessively for about 5 minutes because I hate house cleaning. I do want it done though and I’m it in the house cleaning lottery.

It’s way too early to plan the garden for this summer – it will only make me crazy picking out plants and dreaming about sunshine and green things. Green things are much nicer than white things. I’m not going to go shopping either, although I could – I have promised myself that I will never be out of money again – not ever. Imagine Scarlett in the scene from Gone With the Wind as she digs up that lonely carrot – screaming about how she will never be in that position again – well, that’s me. So I’m not going to go out and look for kitschy stuff for the house ………… I’m going to stay here and be good and be bored. Good and bored.

I have another sock on the needles …….. my sock knitting time is being cut back by the lure of sunshine and warm temperatures. My feet are currently ensconced in beautiful Koigu socks that feel so comfortable it’s like wearing air. There just isn’t enough yardage in a skein of Koigu for me though. I had to add toes in a different yarn. If I absolutely must have Koigu, I will have to buy a solid to go with it to make heels and toes. I cannot spend $42 for a pair of socks which is what 3 skeins of Koigu would be. No. Sock knitting, like everything else, will not break my budget. I do think I have knitter’s elbow though …… I’m thinking about learning scooping instead of doing throwing. That might help. And my Signature needles are SO sharp I have a little hole in my finger.  It doesn’t feel good. I try not to hit it again every time I move a stitch from one needle to the other ………

I could bake. That’s possible. Maybe a couple of loaves of bread would be a good idea. Or some pita which are great with salads and the homemade kind makes those in plastic at the store taste like discs of sand. That might happen ………

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Mitten yarn is arriving today! I can take turns …… no bread yet …… we’re in meltdown and now if our St. Patrick’s Day storm will just not be as bad as usual, spring will be here.

    Like

  2. I want to see pictures of the bread please:) Expensive yarn for sure.

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    Isn’t it the truth! I made my own soy milk and tofu for a long time – until I got sick of doing it. I love making socks though and I don’t think I’ll stop. A sweater gets really pricey and I always say to myself “Would I buy a $150 sweater?” No, I wouldn’t – but I get tempted by the yarn.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jennifer says:

    We sure do winter up right! Ah a wet basement is just part of the thrill of living on ledge…… no place for the water to go!

    Like

  5. I know you’ll hate me for saying this, but at least you know how to do winter properly. Flooded basements sound grim, though.

    Like

  6. suth2 says:

    It is sort of off putting when you realise how expensive it is to knit items of clothing but there is nothing better than something you have enjoyed making yourself.

    I guess the same applies to baking or in my case, making cheese. The cost of the milk to make the feta I recently made, it would have been cheaper to go and buy some but then I wouldn’t have had the joy of creating the cheese myself.

    Hope you get some decent weather soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

