Step Away From The Sock …………

 

IMG_0001

The socks are making me tired. So far, since mid-December, I have knit 10 complete pairs of socks – I think. It could be more …… and I’ve made a set of mittens for the head snow remover. One of those mittens is odd because I forgot part of the pattern 🙂 in my haste to get them finished. I somehow skipped the line that said “knit until the thumb is 1.5 to 2 inches long and went straight to decreasing. So one of those mittens has a super short thumb. I plan to fix this soon ……. I have another skein of the mitten yarn and I will just knit another one RIGHT this time.

On other fronts, besides being bored to absolute tears with socks and general “waiting” for stuff to happen, I am getting slightly completely hysterical. You see, once your spouse dies, Social Security cuts off his income immediately. In order to replace his income with what I will receive as his widow, I had to wait 30 days from the date of his death to get an appointment just to apply for those benefits. At that time I was told I would hear something within 30 days. Well, it’s been 36 days and I’m freaking out. We’ve done well keeping as many bills paid as we can and having money for food, etc., but this month has been cold and we’re almost out of oil which I can’t buy until Tuesday. I sit and pray that the tank won’t run completely dry and shut down the boiler. Then I will have to have a technician come out to start it again and that will probably be expensive, not to mention the pipes could freeze if it stops dead.

I spoke with the gentleman who submitted my claim for me today and there is a little hope. The department that has it now actually put a note in the file that it was being forwarded for approval and payment. Thank. God. He’s also going to send a high-priority message to them if nothing is done by Tuesday.  I do get a small pension from my husband’s former employer on Monday but that won’t be quite enough for 100 gallons of oil. I hope they will deliver 50. We’ll see.

So all in all, going from grief to extreme fear all in three months has kept me from writing. I tend to not post when I’m not in the best of moods – after all, who needs it? Everyone has problems and nobody needs to hear about someone else’s! But anyway thanks for listening to this group …….. I’ve got my fingers crossed that I will only have to face 2 months without income and not 3.

If only snow were money, I’d be rich. We’ve had over 100 inches so far this winter and that’s a record. Naturally 7 years after I move here there would be a record snowfall. This is almost enough for me to brave the 10 feet long snakes in the south – no, it isn’t. I’ll stay here ……..

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I know you’re moving tomorrow …….I just wanted to say good luck, enjoy the chaos and wallow in the joy of a new home!

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    The strangest thing though …. now I don’t know what I’m going to do with the rest of my life. It’s weird, like riding a bike with one wheel. I probably am not going to sit and knit socks and mittens forever!

    Like

  3. Denise says:

    Yup, those final expenses can be a bugger. It’s great that things seem to have settled for you a bit. Nothing is easy but uncertainty makes it worse.

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    I swear I thought I wasn’t going to make it. I had some left over from life insurance but most of that went for final expenses. We pooled our incomes and paid everything we could and spent NO money. At least now I know what I’m getting and when!
    How awesome that 1) the heating is gas and 2) it gets warm at 15!!!! I’ve been using my electric heat pump so much this winter and I’m only using 100 gallons of oil a month. For this big old house, that’s good.

    Like

  5. Denise says:

    I was so lucky – I got an upfront “bereavement payment” of 2k and believe me that helped so much tide me over – I didn’t have any independent alternative income at the time. Like you, I had to hang on for a bit for everything to get moving again.
    The seller of my new house phoned me up and explained how to work the gas heating. Hearing “it gets plenty warm set at 15 on the thermostat” was music to my ears.
    Great mixtures of colours on the knits.

    Like

  6. So happy to see your beautiful socks. I’m sorry you’re going through such hard times. I hope things turn around for you soon. The weather, the government and grief all ganging up on you at once. Blah. Please post more often Rachel. Want to know how you’re doing. ❤

    Like

  7. don’t lose heart – the wheels of government grind slow – but at least they have noticed you and you sense movement rather than an immobile leviathan – and at least you have a source to access – some may not have that – if that is any consolation – and i must say those socks are works of art that must lie in a museum – the colours and patterns must get you a patented fortune if properly marketed. good luck and cheer
    Indrajit

    Like

  8. Jennifer says:

    Me too – I need yarn!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. soknitsome says:

    Love the knitting – hope you get some money soon!

    Like

  10. Jennifer says:

    I think we’re just about done waiting …. I hope! That part has been excruciating! At least I am very good at nagging as my late husband could attest! I cannot absolutely wait for spring! Our landscape is solid white with drifts of snow 9 ft. high. If we get any more, I’m not sure where they’ll put it 🙂

    Like

  11. suth2 says:

    Good to hear from you. Not so good that you are having issues with getting your widow’s allowance. I hope it gets sorted soon. Keep on at them. Don’t let them keep your file languishing in the pile.
    Also hope the weather warms up for you too. Heather

    Like

  12. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    Tell you are well! I see The Weather Channel and shake my head…

    Like

Leave a Reply

