Fantasy Adventures

coutureGo down the rabbit hole with Alice; play quidditch with Harry Potter; float down the river with Huck Finn… If you could choose three fictional events or adventures to experience yourself, what would they be?

So many adventures from which to choose. Having been a reader of everything since first learning how to do it, I have many fantasies of lives rich in exploration from which to gain inspiration.

I would need to hang out with Booth Tarkington’s Penrod and Sam. I remember this book from childhood and the belly laughs I had reading about their antics. Definitely I would love to have more belly laughs and I bet my planning skills would come in handy racing around the neighborhood with Penrod and Sam and creating all sorts of mayhem. And I look innocent too, so when the adults capture us, I would be able to lie with a straight face.

I would be the missing 5th sister in Little Women. We have Jo, the tomboy, Meg the proper young lady, Amy the ego-driven beauty and Beth, the poor sickly sister. We need an anchor here. I would be Jen the adventurous and I would travel the world. I would bring back tales for Jo to write about, linens for Meg’s new home, cosmetics of the world for Amy and new music for Beth to play on her piano. I would treat Marmy to luscious lace with which to adorn her plain clothing. And so Father wouldn’t feel ignored, I would bring him exotic tobacco to fill his pipes. I would cherish those days spent at home with my family, but I would be off on my next adventure as soon as I could.

Exotic textiles being one of my obsessions, I would work with Karen from Barbara Michaels’ book Shattered Silk. Karen starts a used clothing store with clothing from an elderly lady in Washington, DC. The clothes were made by Worth. Whew. Now you don’t get any pricier than clothes handmade by Worth. Chanel would kill to have the clientele Worth brought to their door. Since I’m handy with a needle, I would do the repairs necessary. Sewing on beads, stitching hems where needed, reattaching lace ………. I would be in heaven. Finding myself unable to repair something, I would stick it in a bag and ask if I could have it for scrap. They of course would say yes, and I would begin a stash of silks to use in my art. Sigh. This should happen.

worth

 

dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/fictional-intruder/

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Harry Potter, definitely. Sylvia Beach/Shakespeare & Company in from the 20s to the 40s. And with Jim Butcher, Wizard…I’d hang with all three. I’d like to be able to turn into a cat, talk to Fitzgerald, Hemingway, and the gang and I’d love to be part of Harry Dresden’s gang and be do magic and travel the Ways.

    Like

  2. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    Does being on stage when they first presented Madame Butterfly or Pagliacci count… No one knew what would happen…

    Like

Leave a Reply

