Procrastinating As An Art Form

old clock

I have a question for which I’ve only subliminally found an answer. Does time exist? My answer is no. Time is just something we use to regulate ourselves and it is an agreement we make – probably in order to accomplish what needs doing.

My whole life has been lived on the concept that I cannot be held to a time frame. I do not like working 8 hours …….. taking breaks at certain times ………… going to work at a specific time. Those jobs which required no commitment from me regarding timing were the jobs I was successful at. Of course, they were jobs where I worked for myself.

Even making appointments to give readings or do a group reading made me nervous. Many times I would try to find some reason why I could not go to a group. The feeling of dread coming over me right before I left home was immense. I’ve never figured out why I felt this way. Once I was there and started working, I was fine. I think it was just the concept of “you have 7 readings to do which will take you 3.5 hours” and that was it.

It’s hard to procrastinate when you set your own schedule, as I do now. No more working for me, I am a lady of leisure. The most taxing thing I do is driving to the nursing home. I can keep a schedule for that because I know my husband is just waiting for me to show up. There are days I can’t go visit and those are days I am kind to myself and give myself permission to take a day off.

In all other things I do, I do with enthusiasm, which means I don’t want to procrastinate. These things give me joy. I do procrastinate with meditation occasionally until my spirit steps up and smacks me in the face and lulls me to my room for peace. Meditation isn’t something I do, it is something I need. And there, time is again, not important.

For someone who refuses to wear a watch, refuses to keep a schedule since birth, procrastination pales. Do what you want when you want. There are no timing police out there to grab you and MAKE you do something, unless it’s your boss, in which case they would need to pay me a great deal of money …………

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/now-later/

9 Comments Add yours

  1. anawnimiss says:

    “I do procrastinate with meditation occasionally until my spirit steps up and smacks me in the face and lulls me to my room for peace.”
    I totally imagined that happening. Sorry 😐

    Like

  2. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    No.. Trust me you get it.. Reading is one thing but you get it:)

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    Not really. I read a lot.

    Like

  4. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    You are wise:)

    Like

  5. alienorajt says:

    Jolly well said – and I quite agree!

    Like

  6. Jennifer says:

    Exactly. Not only not lineal but not in any form at all. Only an agreement.

    Like

  7. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    Time is not lineal.. As Eckhart Tolle says, “make time for yourself!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

