Back to Basics

rsushin

Years ago I found Patchwork Quilt Tsushin, a Japanese quilting magazine. These are so superior to American magazines that these are the only ones I’ve kept.

Years ago also, I started a Hawaiian quilt from a pattern in this magazine. It had to be sometime in 1996 or maybe 1998 when I began it. It is one big top to fit a king size bed and the pattern is appliquéd in one piece all over the top.

I took the pattern to my friend at the quilt shop. We marked and cut out the huge piece to be appliquéd. It is horrendously large. I started on it and I may have finished 5%. It has sat in the basket of UFOs since.

Now that I feel an urge to quilt again, I’m getting it back out. It’s a kind of bread fruit pattern. Looks somewhat like this

hquilt

Mine has a batik rose-colored background and a lighter pink appliqué. It will be fabulous. I can’t wait to start back on it. I’m going to need a teensy bit of a plan though ………. like when do I knit socks, when do I knit sweaters, when do I hand stitch the appliqué, when do I ……….

A dairy will come in handy!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Oh boy …….. well I sure do have to keep my mind occupied these days …….. otherwise I think too much!

    Like

  2. suth2 says:

    Some projects which were started long ago end up being the most beautiful and satisfying. You sure are one busy lady – and inspiration to me when I look at all the creative things you do.

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    Can’t wait to get it done and photographed. After only 16 years or so ………… inspiration takes a long time.

    Like

  4. Okay, THAT is beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

