Making Things

Circular Paths
Circular Paths

If you’ve read any of this blog at all, you know I’m into making stuff. I sew, knit, cook, draw even though I’m horrible at it, try my hand at design, dye whatever I can and just generally keep myself busy creating.

Creating is a huge part of my life and can take up days in planning and execution. Sometimes what I make isn’t good enough for me and I trash it and start over. I let my plans get ahead of my skills.

When I first started doing exhibition quilts, I had that problem. I would envision these marvelous wall hangings that would swirl in and out and make this great optical illusion. Only problem was, I didn’t have the patience to do it. I could explain what I wanted to do to my son and he would draw up the plan. That helped a lot. I couldn’t execute anything that wasn’t in fabric. Fabric I can manipulate. A pencil? No.

Over the years I have simplified my making. I’m now down to clothing and knitting socks and sweaters. But I have this niggling desire to make another quilt. I don’t have a huge quilting fabric stash any longer, but I have a large tub full of scraps that I could work into something. I want to do it again. I think me and DS are going to have a long talk – we’ll see if I can get him to stop his project long enough to design mine! Lovely having a graphic designer in the family!

I’ve only been knitting a little over a year and I find myself wanting to design knitting patterns. Dear. Lord. God. I have no idea where to start. I do know I can design the stitch pattern but putting it all into something with decreases and increases in the right places ……….? I will learn to do this.

What is creating all about in my life? To me, it is living. If I were told I couldn’t create any longer I think my life would be over. I hope that when I die, I go to that place where there is unlimited fabric, yarn and paint and I’m told I can just stay there for eternity – making things.

Boat, Swan, Flag
Boat, Swan, Flag
One Comment Add yours

  1. Denise says:

    Making things makes you you. This makes you an artist (we had this discussion last night at book group and it is really at the front of my mind.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

