Got Up and Got Out!

cropped-dsc_1825.jpg

I knew my yarn was arriving today, so I got dressed and got in the car and went to see DH. I helped him a little with lunch but I did an experiment to see how much he would eat if I didn’t feed him – answer? All of it. I was pumped.

I had been to the grocery store on Thursday and naturally forgot a few things. I stopped back on my way home and picked up what I’d missed.

Supper tonight is Breakfast Bread Pudding with fresh blueberries and Maine blueberry syrup. My favorite supper! We’ll have lots left over for breakfast or lunch tomorrow. It’s from Tassajara Recipe Book and it is divine.

I’ve been on a reading glut lately. For me, this has been a fallow period because I’ve found 15 or 20 books to read and stacked them up. I get ebooks from the library too so I read those first and save the paid for ones until I’m out of freebies.

I am reading a Gladys Mitchell book now called The Man Who Grew Tomatoes. She’s one of those highly prolific authors from the 20s and 30s and they have re-published all of her books for Kindle. This one is fantastic and I have one I purchased to read eventually. I just finished a re-read of They Came to Baghdad, one of Christie’s books with neither Marple nor Poirot, but one of her best. I thoroughly enjoyed the spy story of a lone girl in Baghdad who went there to follow a young man she’d just met and the trouble she gets into.

I read Donna Leon’s new book, By Its Cover. I’m not sure what’s happened. I usually love these books but this one ended abruptly and there wasn’t much mystery throughout the whole book. Brunetti didn’t have the secretary breaking into government records or any of the usual plot ploys. I frankly felt let down.

My favorite new author is Elly Griffiths. Her Ruth Galloway mysteries are atmospheric, Ruth is entertaining and her relationship with a married chief inspector of police is hysterical. There’s a new baby and the scenes in the book where the wife of the chief inspector recognizes the child as her husband’s – those are priceless!

Tonight, not being my major TV night, which is tomorrow, will see me watching either Morse or Inspector Alleyn, two series my son was kind enough to buy for me yesterday so I can stream them on the Apple TV. I love that thing and soon I’m afraid Direct TV will have to go …………..

Hope you’re all having a fine weekend! Have to grab the cover off of supper and let it bake just a bit more.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    I love the line Eckhart Tolle says, and then one day you are not in your chair and you back to where you came from.. Classic

    Like

  2. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    You be brave….

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    I can’t see him living much longer. I don’t recall agreeing to this group of lessons, but I’m sure it’s karma ……….

    Like

  4. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    Isn’t that called French toast?? DH doesn’t sound like he will be much longer in this incarnation. What life lesson did he agree to? What did you agree to learn with him? People think I’m nuts but prior to birth we agree to things as spirits.. Anyway, blue berries sound yummy.. This too will pass.

    Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    OMG I don’t know how much longer I can take it – he’s not quite a total vegetable yet, but he’s pretty much not there anymore. Breakfast Bread Pudding is a loaf of good bread – like challah or french bread, 6 T melted butter dribbled over that, mix together 3 eggs and 3 cups of milk, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 T vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon salt and cinnamon and pour it over the bread. Then bake covered for 30 minutes at 350, take the cover off and bake 15 more minutes. I usually put blueberries on top before I bake it – Yum

    Like

  6. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    What is breakfast bread pudding? Is it bread pudding like a dessert? How is DH doing.. You have fortitude to say the least….

    Like

Leave a Reply

