Daily Prompt – Back of the Queue

love

At the very ripe old age of 62, there are many things I have put off that would have been interesting. I must say not all of them fit in with being a decent wife and mother, because these things take time. I wasn’t raised to just ignore the family and go off and do my thing, more’s the pity.

If you’ve read anything in this blog, you know that I wanted to be a fashion designer from the littlest age. I envisioned my own label, shows on the runway and success. When I went off to college, the only courses remotely connected to fashion design were home economics classes. See how they get you back in the “home”?

I didn’t do that. I was good at foreign languages and it seemed a good fit – to learn how to teach German. One problem, there weren’t any jobs for German teachers to be had. The German teachers hung on to their jobs until death. All of the German majors were coming back to grad school. Not a plan.

I finally finished my degree in 1987 at the age of 35. I had a family then. I had planned on going to law school, but let’s face it, it’s a dog eat dog world working with lawyers, as I could attest as a legal secretary. A whole life of nasty creatures stabbing me in the back didn’t sound like fun.

I thought about getting a Master’s in Library Science and actually signed up for a class. Good deal, the tuition was only $850 for one class. I would need lots of them. Not a good plan.

So now what? I don’t know. It seems everything that would put me into a career costs way too much money. And I’m odd – I’m psychic and follow bhakti yoga and I preach being in the moment constantly. So how does that fit in with any other career other than a mystic? I am a mystic. I’ll just have to go on being that. It’s what’s here, now.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/back-of-the-queue/

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Denise says:

    It’s a shame you didn’t get an opportunity to work in fashion. You make some really beautiful things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

