Summer is on in Maine!

summer

I thought I’d do a “weathah report” post since I did them all winter long ………… all winter and all long!

Last week our temperatures didn’t get much above 70 and we had quite a bit of rain. And then summer hit. Yesterday, when I got in my car to head up to Orono, the temperature display said 87. It felt like 87. Of course, we don’t have horrible humidity, although it was hot enough for me.

Once I got to the nursing home, thank God they had the air conditioning on. For some reason, older people are always cold. That’s why we used 1250 gallons of oil in 2012 and only 783 last year ……………

I cut my husband out of the herd – so much easier to visit with him in his room. It was lunch time and I was on feeding detail. I noticed that he will pick up his fork if there is food on it but I’m not sure he can pick up a fork and put food on it. I will see if he does that next time. I do a lot of retraining with him.

He ate every last bit of his lunch while I basked in the wind of the fan in his room. He could have air conditioning if he wanted it, but he does not. Whew. I would get that air conditioner in a heartbeat. At least he has the fan so I can tolerate visiting.

I left the nursing home after about an hour and a half. The temperature in my car said 89. I couldn’t wait to get home. My jeans were sticking to my legs. I am forever grateful that I have air conditioning and would put up with anything to keep it running ……… I can actually sit and knit in the summer, inside the house, because of air conditioning!

We’re coming up on the 4th of July. I would love to go to Bar Harbor and Acadia this next week but it would be madness with all of the visitors. I have to wait until there isn’t so much traffic. There’s no place to park in Bar Harbor during the summer. I wonder if I can park at Acadia and take the Island Shuttle to town. I will need to check that out ………..

Summer in Maine – fresh produce, fresh air, happy vacationers ——- what else could you want?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Thank God not as bad as here! I’m so happy it’s summer!

    Like

  2. suth2 says:

    We are having cold weather here at the moment but nowhere near the cold you experience in winter. Our lowest temp last night was 8 degrees C. Top yesterday of 16.

    Like

  3. Denise says:

    Better than winter in Maine. Sounds hot, but the relief of the air con sounds lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

