I Could Lose Sweet

donut

Surprisingly enough, if I had to lose one taste that I would never, ever taste again – it would be the sweet taste. Even though it is my absolute favorite thing.

Here’s why. If I couldn’t taste the sugar in a donut, or on a donut, I wouldn’t eat donuts. I would be able to resist them and thereby lose half my body weight in a year. Well, maybe not half, but a lot of it.

Chocolate wouldn’t disturb me, or the lack of it. I would say yetch, who needs to eat that stuff? I would be able to resist cake, pie, ice cream and cookies. I wouldn’t have to bake any more and could waste my time explore new food groups. Of course it would be bad not to taste berries, but I’m not sure they are as sweet as they are pungent and a tad bit bitter. I could still eat fruit.

Of course I would miss the wonders of my homemade peach cobbler, pumpkin pies, cherry crisp, cocoa fudge cake, sinful brownies – just to name a few. And my French Market Donuts made from a recipe in my southern cookbook – can I really live without those? Nah. Changed my mind. I’m going to make some of those today ………..

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/picky-tongues/

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Denise says:

    Normally I would say I could do without sweet but I have lapsed into the habit of Pimms with cake for dinner over the last few days… it’s the hot weather… and they sound like they’ve got nothing on your marvellous desserts.

    Like

  2. Green Embers says:

    You and me, we’re on the same page. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

