My Most Prized Possession

There are things and then there are THINGS. This is definitely a THING.

This object has functioned for me without any trouble since the day it arrived at my home and came out of the box. I learned it without any hair-pulling or cussing, things I do a lot.

I’m a quick learner, but when you throw a machine at me, I can be slow. Take for instance my serger. I had to have it. I got it. I don’t use it. It intimidates me. It makes me feel inadequate to the challenge. Threading it is like walking over a cliff in the dark. I look at it in disdain. I will probably sell it.

My prized possession though is none of these things. It hums with perfect modulation. I can tap a couple of buttons and voila’ it becomes even more super-duper than it already was and it gives me infinite flexibility.

I will admit there were a couple of accessories that I didn’t enjoy. No problem, I sold those. I like the straight, gorgeous, totally functional and completely understandable thing that it is.

I have covered beds with this thing and I have covered my naked body with this thing. I have stolen designer secrets, learned new techniques and explored the depths of heaven with this. I am smitten.

The instructions are simple to follow. It thinks for itself. It only needs me to stick in a drop of oil every now and again, a new needle, clean out the bobbin case and it runs like a dream.

This is my most prized possession

bernina

There’s some history to my buying this. Years ago, way before I left Michigan for Canada, I wanted a Bernina. Unfortunately the cost the earth at that time and they weren’t computerized yet. I bought an Elna which I wanted to throw out the window. It was, to put it mildly, a hunk of shit.

I get to Canada and have this desire for a super sewing machine. No one sold Berninas on the Island, so I bought a fancy Pfaff. I couldn’t even get the bobbin in the machine. You had to line up a teensy black dot with the other teensy black dot. I hated that machine. It did everything, but you had to be a rocket scientist to figure it out. I sold it.

Several years later, we moved to Maine. No more living out of the country for me. We had a lot of things we needed for our home, and we bought them. I got a new gas/electric stove because I’d had a Garland in PEI and I needed something slick. Cool. Did that.

Then, in December of 2007, I decided I needed a sewing machine. Low and behold, nobody sold them in Bangor either. They used to, but they’d closed up. The closest place was Auburn. Cool. It was winter and had started snowing 20 inches every other day. We also had an oil crisis, the cost going up so high, nobody could afford to heat their homes. So the nice people at the sewing machine store in Auburn weren’t selling a thing. And then they put my machine on sale.

Two weeks later, on my birthday, my Bernina 440QE arrived. I paid $75 not to have to drive 120 miles to go get it. I unpacked it, plugged it in and immediately started sewing. No problems. No hitches. No big learning curve. Just sit down and sew.

I have had this machine now for 6 years. I have a whole closet full of clothes I made using this machine. I have made 4 quilts, two of which I sold. I have made a leather purse (okay still have to find a way to fix the damn strap) an I have made curtains, chair cushions – you name it.

This THING gives me the needed time to recuperate from worrying about my ill spouse. I can shut out the worries and just listen to her hum. I am in heaven.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-day-twenty/

badge

One Comment Add yours

  1. suth2 says:

    I couldn’t live without my sewing machine either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

