A Fun Time at the Assembly Hall 1969

school

Years ago, bleeping 45 years ago, I graduated from the above high school, Champaign Central High in – wait for it – Champaign, Illinois.

My high school days were fun, I must admit. I was the news editor of the Champaign Chronicle, our school newspaper. I was a junior in 1969, but since I’d had the sense to take Biology in night school, I was eligible to graduate. And I did do just that. Enough already.

I usually attended basketball games with a group of my friends – all girls, of course. We would cheer and make snide remarks about a lower class woman who was always snogging away with some guy or the other up in the rafters. She came to a sticky end, which we could see how right in front of our eyes.

Anyway, in 1969, we had a great team. We won the divisional title and went on to play in the state tournament which was held at the Assembly Hall on the campus of the University of Illinois.

hall

This cool building was the site of many events, concerts and games. But the coolest thing about it was that Dad helped build it! He worked on the roof ……… in the heat of the summer …………… yucks.

I went to the State Tournament with the same bunch of friends and we cheered until our voices were so hoarse we couldn’t gossip about the sleaze ball still making out in the rafters of the Assembly Hall. It was so exciting watching the game, praying we’d win. Well crud, we didn’t – we came in third ……….. but boy did we have fun just being there.

I was only 17 when I graduated and went to university 250 miles south of Champaign. It was perhaps a little soon to be going off to school without Mom there to tell me when to piss, shit or go blind. I had fun. I had so much fun that I finally dropped out, only to finish my degree some 13 years later ………….But I say – what the hell. What are your teens for except to have fun? There are enough years left on the old clock during which you will hardly even allow the word fun into your mind so you might as well have fun when you’re 17, 18, 19 and 20!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/offside-memories/

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Denise says:

    Smart girl. Equally able to work and play.

    Like

Leave a Reply

