Summer Solstice

solstice

An extra hour of sunlight today. Is this all it is? No.

The meaning is deeper, a part of our lives, a mark in time, a time when all is fertile with promise.

This is the time of the rose, blossom and thorn, fragrance and blood. Now on this longest day, light triumphs, and yet begins the decline into the dark. The Sun King grown embraces the Queen of Summer in the love that is death because it is so complete that all dissolves into the single song of ecstasy that moves the worlds. So the Lord of Light dies to Himself, and sets sail across the dark seas of time, searching for the isle of light that is rebirth. We turn the Wheel and share his fate, for we have planted the seeds of our own changes and to grow we must accept even the passing of the sun. (The Spiral Dance, Harper Collins, 1999, p. 205)

And we celebrate this day with joy and mark the midway part of our year. How do we spend that extra hour of sunlight given to us today? I will spend this extra hour in meditation. Meditating on the growth of all things, trees, flowers, crops, love and joy. I will put forth the seeds of my own growth, asking the watchtowers of the East, West, North and South to guide me in my growth.

And I will spend the extra hour in thinking of ways I can not receive all blessings, but in ways in which I can give blessings to others I meet today and every day. Even if all I have to give is a wish for joy and good will, a wish for laughter and love. Everyone I see today will get that gift from me. A gift of joy, laughter and love.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/set-for-solstice/

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Denise says:

    Very serene thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

